Finding Full Text
Many databases offered on the library's website include the full text of articles. Click on the pdf or html icon to download the article.
If full text is not available, click the 360 Link icon to see if there is access from another source. Look for:
displayed for each item in the databases offered from the library's website. In Google Scholar, look for Find Full Text @ Oberlin. Access at publisher's websites is generally limited to subscribers.
Full-text is not always accessible for immediate download. The 360 Link may lead to an intermediary page that offers access through Interlibrary loan. If you have trouble, consult library staff.
Databases - Interdisciplinary
- Bibliography of Asian Studies (1971 to date) This link opens in a new window
Indexes English language articles on all aspects of East, Southeast, and South Asian culture.
- Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal and trade magazine articles on all aspects of communication, rhetoric, journalism, film and television studies.
- Film & Television Literature Index This link opens in a new window
Index to journals, magazines, and selected books covering all aspects of film and television research, including film theory, preservation, restoration, screenwriting, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowScholarly journal archive for the humanities, social sciences and natural sciences; current issues (usually the last 2-5 years) are not digitized by JSTOR and may be obtained elsewhere.
Japanese Language Databases
- Zasshi kiji sakuin shusei detabesu This link opens in a new windowComplete database for Japanese magazines and periodicals from the Meiji era to the present. Index to periodical articles published in Japanese, including those in former Japanese colonies, and local periodicals not present in many other indexes. Coverage is from 1868 onwards.
- CiNii Articles This link opens in a new windowCiNii Article Database is a Japanese scholarly journal index. Abstracts are available. Includes NDL Zasshi Kiji Sakuin search. Many full text articles from Daigaku Kiyo are available in pdf. Can search holding institutions. Can save your bibliographic information in three different formats. CiNii Articles Database is developed and managed by the National Institute of Informatics. Main databases included in CiNii Articles: Electronic Library Service Academic Society Journals (National Institute of Informatics), Electronic Library Service Research Bulletins (joint input from each university), Citation Database for Japanese Publications (National Institute of Informatics), Zasshi Kiji Sakuin (National Diet Library), Institutional Repository (Universities, etc.), JAIRO - Japanese Institutional Repositories Online, J-STAGE Journal Archive (Japan Science and Technology Agency).
- NDL Digital Collection and Exhibitions 国立国会図書館デジタルコレクションについてThe National Diet Library offers online galleries of digitized material with detailed English descriptions. The digitized content can be browsed on an English interface; however, the bibliographic information is available only in Japanese and must be searched using Japanese characters as well.
- The Meiji at 150 Project - University of British Columbia in VancouverThe 2017-2018 Academic Year sees the 150th anniversary of Japan’s 1868 Meiji Restoration, an epochal political revolution that sparked Japan’s remarkable modernization, dramatic cultural transformation, and rapid emergence onto the global stage.
- Koshiki-database (講式データべース)The koshiki-database provides bibliographical references to more than 370 works of Buddhist liturgical texts,
which were used for the last 1000 years (starting around the year 980).
It also includes editions of about 150 texts of these works, some of them the only modern edition up to now. - Digital Humanities Project on 3.11 Great East Japan EarthquakeDigital Humanities Project by Steven Geofrey Brown using Japanese morphological analysis and visualization.
- Japanese Animated Film Classicsfull-view available online (some with English subtitle)
- Japanese Historical Text Initiative - UC BerkeleyThe Japanese Historical Text Initiative (JHTI) is an electronic research database hosted by the Center for Japanese Studies, University of California, Berkeley that is designed to aid research in Japanese history and literature in two ways:
• You can search through a vast amount of source material in the Japanese original and the English translation
• You can browse the Japanese original and/or the English translation of any word or string of words, or any character or string of characters, being studied - Nihon Koten Bungaku Taikei Honbun Database日本古典文學大系
National Institute of Japanese Literature
Japanese literature collection originally published by Iwanami Shoten in 102 volumes from 1957-1968. Consists of major works from ancient time to early 20th century, full-text and searchable by keyword. Search can be for the complete collection or limited to individual volumes. (OPEN ACCESS VIA INSTITUTION ONLY) - Aozora bunko corpus - Modern Literature TextsModern literature texts - A digital project by Professor Hoyt Long, University of Chicago;
Aozora Search Site