CJK Romanization System
OBIS DOES NOT support the search CJK language material using Chinese/Japanese/Korean characters.
- Romanization for CJK languages (Japanese)
- For Japanese Romanization system (2012). PLEASE USE THE PROPER ROMANIZATION SYSTEM.
If you need any further help, please email me!
- DVDs in Oberlin College LibrariesDVDs original language Japanese (some with English subtitles)
Major Streaming Video Platforms
- Academic Video Online This link opens in a new windowStreaming documentaries, films, and demonstrations on topics including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
- Feature Films for Education This link opens in a new windowHundreds of streaming full-length feature films for educational instructional purposes. This collection focuses on both current and hard-to-find titles, including documentaries, literary adaptations, blockbusters, classics, environmental titles, foreign films, social issues, animation studies, Academy Award winners, and more.
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new windowA streaming video collection that provides unlimited access to 300,000 video clips in numerous subject areas. Includes captioning with interactive and searchable transcripts on all titles, as well as instructions for embedding videos in learning management systems.
- Kanopy This link opens in a new windowOnline videos include documentaries and feature films. Most films require a librarian to approve purchase before viewing. Further details on recent changes to Kanopy and a list of currently licensed Kanopy films are available on the Kanopy research guide.
- World Cinema Video Collection This link opens in a new windowStreaming feature films from Africa, America, Asia, Europe, Latin America and the Middle East, including films from the silent era, from the mid-20th century, as well as award-winning contemporary works.
East Asian Video Resources
- General bibliographic resource
- Modern Chinese Literature and Culture (Media)
- Japanese Animated Film Classics
- http://animation.filmarchives.jp/index.html
- Some full-view available online (some with English subtitle)
- Japanese film database
- Film News in East Chinese Newspapers 早期華文報紙電影資料庫
- http://digital.lib.hkbu.edu.hk/chinesefilms/search.php
- 22,000 records on film advertisements, news and reviews published between 1900 and 1950 in eight selected Chinese newspapers from late Qing to the Republican era in four cities: Hong Kong, Guangzhou, Hangzhou and Tianjin
- dGenerate films
- Reviews and introductions of independent films from mainland China
- Korean movie database
- HANCinema – the Korean movie and drama database