Work by graffiti and street artists in the Oberlin College Libraries collection
Celebrate people's history: Iraq Veterans Against the War: ten years of fighting for peace and justice / Iraq Veterans Against the War.
Iraq Veterans Against the War. 2014
A portfolio of work by Iraq Veterans Against the War in celebration of their ten year anniversary (2004-2014). Contents include 66 silkscreen prints, handmade paper, and oversize posters.
Art Library, Flat collection, N7433.38.A36 I73 2014
God Bless Graffiti Coalition box set. Josh MacPhee, Daniel Tucker
[Brooklyn, NY : God Bless Graffiti Coalition: Booklyn, Inc., 2018]
The God Bless Graffiti Coalition (GBGC) fought for the democratization of urban spaces and the decriminalization of graffiti practitioners in the early years of the 21st c. Many works protest the political climate of the Bush era – including the anti-war movement – and document concerns of that time. Contains works in a variety of mediums – such as risographs, screen prints, and spray painted stencils – meant to be displayed in the public spaces of urban environments. Artists include Shepard Fairey, Slack, Danny Tisdale, Dread Scott, and Havok.
Art Library, Flat collection N7433.38.A36 M33 2018
Justseeds retrospective box set collection.
Josh MacPhee, Santiago Armengod, Kevin Caplicki.
[Pittsburgh, Pa. ]: Justseeds Artists' Cooperative, 2012
A collection of work created by the cooperative over a five-year period, providing an overview of Justseeds production and the collective's combined output, the social themes it addresses, and the diversity and commonalities of Justseeds aesthetics. Contains 61 items including screenprints, block prints, offset posters, publications, and other ephemera.
Art Library, Flat collection N7433.38 .A36 2012
Examples of graffiti and street art
Stencil Pirates by Call Number: Art Library NK8654 .M33 2004ISBN: 1932360158With worldwide coverage and almost 1000 photographs, Stencil Pirates documents work by hundreds of artists and the width and breadth of stencil graffiti, from political to abstract and purely aesthetic, from tagging to public announcements. Essays cover the complex history of stencil graffiti, its political context, and how stencils fit into the larger pantheon of street expression, and how political movements use stenciling to resist and mark territory, whether gentrification struggles in San Francisco or a general uprising in Argentina.
Stencil artists are the printmakers of the urban landscape, dropping art on sidewalks, walls, park benches, bus stops, store windows, etc. An accessible form of printmaking, stencil artists only need a piece of cardboard, a knife, a can of spray paint and something to express. Stenciling is a form of expression that boldly reclaims public space, inserting political or metaphysical messages into public spaces dominated by corporate messages.
Sticker City by Call Number: Art Library ND2590 .W35 2007ISBN: 9780500286685Celebrating a fresh creative twist in the modern graffiti movement, Sticker City reviews posters and stickers adorning public surfaces in cities around the world. Claudia Walde, (aka graffiti artist Mad C), traveled the globe meeting with over 80 street artists and the custodians of the new sticker cities. Important works from Shepard Fairey's "Obey Giant" propaganda campaign, and Blek le Rat's stencil graffiti, and Revs's sensational 1990s sticker flood of New York City are included.
Street Art by Call Number: Art Library ND2590 .B68 2005ISBN: 0060833386Stunning and vibrant artwork can be found on buildings, sidewalks, street signs, and other surfaces in cities from New York to London to Barcelona. Street Art presents an overview of this movement from late 1960s – with anonymous spray-can art in New York and Philadelphia – to today's cross-cultural phenomenon. Discusses the difference between street art and graffiti, new trends and styles and works in various media: stickers and posters, stencils, textured surfaces, traffic signs, buildings and furniture. Includes interviews with the artists.
Street Writers: A Guided Tour of Chicano Graffiti by ISBN: 9781734208504The first graffiti book to document the Chicano Street Culture. Gusmano Cesaretti's historical black and white photographs – shot in high contrast and beautifully composed – document graffiti in Northeast Los Angeles in the pioneering seventies.-- streetwriters.com,
