Database for Newspapers
The databases below have full text of news articles in Japanese. They will work best if you search in Japanese script. Use Nikkei Telecom 21 and Zasshi only with Professor Suemasa's help. Columbia University Library's guide to searching in Japanese has helpful tips on the importance of phrase searching and boolean operators. (Note that the guide's advice on using romanization to search in western library catalogs does not really apply to Japanese news sources.)
- Factiva This link opens in a new windowFull-text global news sources, including newspapers, newswires, television and radio transcripts, numerous regional and industry publications, and images from Reuters. Content comes from ~160 countries in 22 languages. Only 3 Oberlin users at one time.
- Nikkei Telecom 21 This link opens in a new window
Resources from more than 500 sources.
140+ national/regional/specialized newspapers
140+ national/specialized periodicals
30+ newswires
30+ stats, marketing, research information
40+ International source
Sources include Nikkei newspapers and magazines, Asahi, Yomiuri, Mainichi and Sankei.
Extensive Corporate Profiles, People Search and English sources also available.
Update frequency: Daily. 10,000 added daily.
Access for this resource is limited. Please contact aes@oberlin.edu for log in information. - Asahi Cross-Search 聞蔵Ⅱビジュアル海外版 This link opens in a new windowJapanese newspaper database with over 8,000,000 articles, including
Asahi Shinbun newspaper Full Text Database (1985 - present), Image Database of Post -WW Ⅱ Showa Period (1945-1989), Image Database of Heisei (1989-1999).
Note: On campus and vpn access only, not available for proxy login. - Zasshi kiji sakuin shusei detabesu This link opens in a new windowComplete database for Japanese magazines and periodicals from the Meiji era to the present. Index to periodical articles published in Japanese, including those in former Japanese colonies, and local periodicals not present in many other indexes. Coverage is from 1868 onwards.
Database for Articles
- CiNii Articles This link opens in a new windowCiNii Article Database is a Japanese scholarly journal index. Abstracts are available. Includes NDL Zasshi Kiji Sakuin search. Many full text articles from Daigaku Kiyo are available in pdf. Can search holding institutions. Can save your bibliographic information in three different formats. CiNii Articles Database is developed and managed by the National Institute of Informatics. Main databases included in CiNii Articles: Electronic Library Service Academic Society Journals (National Institute of Informatics), Electronic Library Service Research Bulletins (joint input from each university), Citation Database for Japanese Publications (National Institute of Informatics), Zasshi Kiji Sakuin (National Diet Library), Institutional Repository (Universities, etc.), JAIRO - Japanese Institutional Repositories Online, J-STAGE Journal Archive (Japan Science and Technology Agency).
- Zasshi kiji sakuin shusei detabesu This link opens in a new windowComplete database for Japanese magazines and periodicals from the Meiji era to the present. Index to periodical articles published in Japanese, including those in former Japanese colonies, and local periodicals not present in many other indexes. Coverage is from 1868 onwards.
- JAIRO - Japanese Institutional Repositories Online This link opens in a new windowJapanese Institutional Repositories Online, is an index of over 1 million journal articles, dissertations, departmental bulletins, etc, with links to the full text of more than three-quarters of them.
