Proxied access: Databases A-Z
Note: Throughout this research guide, there are links to databases that may be useful for your research; many of these resources require an Oberlin IP address for access. Use our Databases A-Z to discover useful databases, and to access them from anywhere through our proxy server!
You can filter the Databases A-Z by Subject (e.g., Law, Public Policy & Legistlation), or by type of resources (e.g., News & Newspapers).
News and newspaper articles
Through the Oberlin College Libraries, you have access to a great variety of news and newspaper sources, historical and contemporary; below are outlined some of the best ways to explore these resources.
Databases A-Z
Search for all databases with the Type of News and Newspapers. The databases that appear here are all specialized databases for accessing historical and contemporary news content.
Summon
Filter any search by Content Type, and select Newspaper Article or Magazine Article.
EBSCOhost
In EBSCOhost databases such as Academic Search Complete, filter any search by Document Type (e.g., Editorial) or Publication Type (e.g., Newspaper).
Source Type guides
Check out our source type guides, including our:
- Major Newspapers guide, and learn how to access your library-sponsored subscription to New York Times and Wall Street Journal;
- News & Newspapers guide, which also highlights local newspapers; and
- Magazines guide, which highlights our print and digital holdings.
Journal Finder
Look up the publication by title, and determine where (in print or online) and when (for what range of publication dates) access is available; then, browse the appropriate database or shelving location for the subject(s) or article(s) you're looking for!
Databases
The databases highlighted below might be of particular use for your assignment:
- Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal and trade magazine articles on all aspects of communication, rhetoric, journalism, film and television studies.
- Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source provides full text for hundreds of national, regional (U.S.), and international newspapers, as well as full-text television, radio, and news transcripts.
- Points of View Reference Source This link opens in a new window
Full-text database designed to provide students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. The database provides 250 topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument), counterpoint (opposing argument), and Critical Thinking Guide. The database also offers guides to debate, developing arguments, and writing position papers.
