Where to Find Scholarly Articles
Use Search.Libraries to find books, journal articles, scores, audio, video, and more—all from a single integrated starting point.
To find scholarly articles in Search.Libraries, you can:
- Apply the Articles pre-filter before searching
- Filter results by Resource Type > Articles
- Filter results by Availability > Scholarly & Peer-Reviewed Journals
The following are some of the top databases for research in Religion. For a full list of databases at Oberlin, check out our Databases A-Z. Try limiting by Religion as a Subject.
To find scholarly articles in databases, look for filters that allow you to limit results to scholarly & peer-reviewed articles.
-
ATLA Religion Database This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion. Also covers antiquities and archaeology, Bible, church history, ecumenism, ethics, missions, pastoral ministry, philosophy, religions and religious studies, theology. Dates of Coverage: 1949-to date
-
ATLASerials, Religion Collection This link opens in a new window
Full text from more than 100 journals selected by leading religion scholars in the United States.
-
Religion and Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides full text from more than 290 journals; covers world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.
Where to Find Articles from Popular Sources
Search.Libraries
In Search.Libraries, use the Newspaper Search function, or filter results by Resource Type > Newspaper Articles.
-
Search.Libraries This link opens in a new window
Find books, journal articles, scores, audio, video, and more from a single integrated starting point.
Databases
The following are some of the top databases for discovering recent and contemporary newspaper articles. For a full list of databases at Oberlin, check out our Databases A-Z. Try limiting results in Databases A-Z by Type > News & Newspapers.
-
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Full-text global news sources, including newspapers, newswires, television and radio transcripts, numerous regional and industry publications, and images from Reuters, along with financial data including business ratios. Content comes from ~160 countries in 22 languages. Only 3 Oberlin users at one time.
-
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
A wide range of news, political, legal, and business information from thousands of sources, mostly full text. Includes newspapers, magazines, wire services, federal and state court opinions, federal and state statutes, federal regulations, and SEC filings. News information is updated daily and wire services several times daily.
Related Guides
For information on access to local, state, and national newspapers, including the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, refer to the following research guides:
Search.Libraries
In Search.Libraries, filter your results by Resource Type > Magazine Articles.
-
Search.Libraries This link opens in a new window
Find books, journal articles, scores, audio, video, and more from a single integrated starting point.
Databases
The following are some of the top databases for discovering recent and contemporary magazine articles. For a full list of databases at Oberlin, check out our Databases A-Z.
-
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary - good for nearly all subjects. Scholarly and trade journals, popular magazines, newspapers, conference proceedings, book reviews, and more.
-
MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracting and indexing for popular magazines and periodicals, and full text for the majority of titles.