Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A Concise Encyclopedia of the Italian Renaissance by
Call Number: Art Reference DG533.C563 c.2
Publication Date: 1981-11-01
Glossary of Italian terms and bibliography of principal Italian reference works c. 1320-1600.
The Encyclopedia of Sculpture by
Call Number: Art Reference NB198. E53 2004 vol.1-3
Publication Date: 2003
Western European sculpture from the Renaissance through the end of the 20th century.
Encyclopedia of the Renaissance by
Call Number: Main Reference CB361 .E52 1999 vol. 1-6
Publication Date: 1999
Grove Art Online
Most comprehensive art encyclopedia available in English; useful for scholarly overviews and excellent bibliographies.
Oxford Dictionary of the Renaissance.
Comprehensive coverage of the Renaissance in 14th to 17th century Europe including the art, literature, science, culture, philosophy, religion, economics, history, and conflicts of the period.
Renaissance Art and Architecture by
Call Number: Art Reference N6370 .C32 2004
Publication Date: 2004
This encyclopedia is arranged into three sections: art, architecture and gardens.
Also of use
The Periodical Historical Atlas of Europe
The Periodical Historical Atlas of Europe shows the political situation in Europe at the end of each century (from AD 1 to AD 2000). Taken together it offers the political evolution of Europe over the past 2,000 years. The high resolution pages include detailed views of the states, provinces and cities. Download the special viewer software (called "Periodical Historical Atlas of Euorpe") for magnification from 600% to 1000%.
Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection, Univ. of Texas Libraries
Historical maps of Europe from the Greek and Roman eras to the 20th c. Includes maps of various types: political, topographical, thematic, etc.
Librarian / Research Help
Contact:Barb Prior (she/her)
Clarence Ward Art Library
Top Floor, Venturi Art Building
- HOW DO I ….?
Watch these videos for advice & support on using library resources and doing research. Visit us at https://libraries.oberlin.edu/ to chat with us in real-time, schedule a research appointment, or send us an email message.