Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Best Journal Article Databases
Inspec This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive coverage of scientific and technical literature in physics, astronomy, engineering, and computer science. Dates of coverage: 1969 to present.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Scholarly literature in the sciences, health and medicine, social sciences, arts, and humanities and proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions. Includes cited reference searching across many databases. Search all databases in Web of Science
(includes Medline and BIOSIS, direct link for on-campus users). Dates of coverage: 1965 to present.
Other Important Databases
Critically reviews the most significant research literature in over 40 focused disciplines within the fields of biomedical, life, physical, and social sciences. These reviews both summarize recent scholarly advances and prompt new research activity. Excellent database of in-depth, secondary sources.
arXiv provides open access to e-prints in the areas of physics, astronomy, mathematics, computer science and more.
A comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database. Contains abstracts from journals, conference papers and proceedings, and technical reports worldwide. Dates of Coverage: 1884-present
Contributions of 20th Century Women to Physics
An archive presenting important and original contributions made before 1976 by female physicists.
A full-text searchable database of electronic resources from the U.S. Dept. of Energy Office and Scientific and Technical Information.
Einstein Archives Online
Digitized manuscripts and database of 43,000+ archival items.
Encyclopedia of Physics Demonstrations
600 videos of physics experiments, augmented by slow-motion photography and animation. Each video illustrates a particular principle of physics.
High energy physics literature database.
SAO/NASA Astrophysics Data System (ADS)
Three bibliographic databases combined: Astronomy and Astrophysics, Physics, and archive e-prints.
Search U.S. government science information.
TRAIL: Technical Report Archive and Image Library
Selects, digitizes, and deposits technical reports into trusted repositories: the HathiTrust and the University of North Texas (UNT) Digital Library.