Search.Libraries
Visit Search.Libraries to find books, journal articles, scores, audio, video, and more—all from a single integrated starting point.
Books and Ebooks
Call Numbers Starting with QC
If a call number starts with QC, it is a work about physics. Here are some general guidelines:
- QC1-75: General physics
- QC81-114: Weights and Measures
- QC120-168.85: Mechanics
- QC170-197: Atomic Physics; Constitution and Properties of Matter, including molecular physics, relativity, quantum theory, and solid state physics
- QC221-246: Acoustics, Sound
- QC251-338.5: Heat, including thermodynamics
- QC350-467: Optics; Light, spectroscopy
- QC501-766: Electricity and Magnetism
- QC770-798: Nuclear and particle physics, Atomic energy, Radioactivity
- QC801-809: Geophysics, Cosmic physics
- QC811-849: Geomagnetism
- QC851-999: Meteorology, Climatology
Here are some subject headings to use in Search.Libraries:
General Physics Subject Headings
- Physics
- Physics – Experiments
- Physics – History
- Physics – Methodology
Scholarly Articles
-
Encyclopedia of Physics
by
Call Number: Science Library QC5 .R596 2004ISBN: 0816049742Publication Date: 2004-05-01
The following are some of the top databases for Physics research. For a full list of databases at Oberlin, check out our Databases A-Z. Try limiting by Physics as a Subject!
-
Inspec This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive coverage of scientific and technical literature in physics, astronomy, engineering, and computer science. Dates of coverage: 1969 to present.
-
Science Citation Index Expanded (via Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
In the Web of Science Core Collection search function, limit your search to Editions > Science Citation Index Expanded (SCI-EXPANDED). Indexing and abstracts of millions of peer-reviewed articles in all scientific disciplines. Also includes technical reports, book chapters, conference papers and other formats. Cited and citing reference searching.
As of Fall 2025, you will be redirected to the Web of Science Core Collections search. To search in the Science Citation Index Expanded, select Editions > Science Citation Index Expanded (SCI-EXPANDED)--1965-present.
