Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A comprehensive directory of online philosophy articles and books by academic philosophers. The service monitors journals in many areas of philosophy, as well as archives and personal pages. PhilPapers' purpose is to facilitate the exchange and development of philosophical research.
An electronic archive for preprints in the philosophy of science. It is offered as a free service to the philosophy of science community. The goal of the archive is to promote communication in the field by the rapid dissemination of new work.
GenETHX: Genetics and Ethics Database
Covers the literature on ethics and public policy issues in genetics from journal and newspaper articles, books, book chapters, government reports, court decisions, bills, laws, and audiovisual materials. It indexes other diverse publication types, as well, such as book reviews, press releases, unpublished documents, position statements, and news items. Most materials are in English, although citations to materials in many other languages are included.
ETHX Web (1974-2009)
ETHX Web covers the literature of bioethics and professional ethics, with over 250,000 citations to journal and newspaper articles, books, book chapters, government reports, court decisions, bills, laws, and audiovisual materials. It indexes other diverse publication types, as well, such as book reviews, press releases, unpublished documents, position statements, and news items. Most materials are in English, although citations to materials in many other languages are included. Dates of Coverage: 1974-2009
Very Short Introductions
Provides concise introductions to a diverse range of subjects, written by experts in the field who combine facts, analysis, new ideas, and enthusiasm to make challenging topics highly readable. Subject categories include: Arts and humanities, Law, Medicine and health, Science and mathematics, Social sciences.
Hundreds of dictionaries, general reference, language reference, and subject reference works from Oxford University Press.
Dictionary of World Philosophy by
Publication Date: 2001-04-25
The Dictionary of World Philosophy covers the diverse and challenging terminology, concepts, schools and traditions of the vast field of world philosophy. Providing an extremely comprehensive resource and an essential point of reference in a complex and expanding field of study the Dictionary covers all major subfields of the discipline
The Blackwell Dictionary of Western Philosophy by
Publication Date: 2004-10-22
The Blackwell Dictionary of Western Philosophy is a concise reference to the whole history of western philosophy, from ancient Greece to the present day. Spans all the major branches of western philosophical inquiry, all of the key figures Explains the meaning and usage of each philosophical concept in a fresh and engaging style
Dictionary of Philosophy of Religion by
Publication Date: 2010-08-19
Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Publication Date: 2005-12-01
Second edition of the standard work from Macmillan which includes substantive articles by talented scholars exploring the full spectrum of philosophical topics.
Encyclopedia of Environmental Ethics and Philosophy
Publication Date: 2008-10-15
Examines the philosophical and ethical issues underlying contemporary and historical environmental issues, policies, and debates. Covers concepts, institutions, topics, events and people, including global warming, animal rights, environmental movements, alternative energy, green chemistry, industrial ecology, and eco-sabotage.
Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
The Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy was founded in 1995 as a non-profit organization to provide open access to detailed, scholarly information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy.
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy by
Call Number: B51 .R68 1998
Publication Date: 1998-05-26
The Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy is the most ambitious international philosophy project in many years. Edited by Edward Craig and assisted by thirty specialist subject editors, the REP consists of ten volumes of the world's most eminent philosophers writing for the needs of students and teachers of philosophy internationally.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
A dynamic reference work which includes articles on people, concepts, books, and other topics in philosophy. All entries and updates are refereed by the members of an editorial board before they are made public.