Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Using the Dashboard (Getting credit for participating at Oberlin)
The Oberlin College Art+Feminism 2020 Dashboard allows us to track our group contributions to the Art+Feminism campaign. All participants are requested to sign in before they begin editing. Note: students completing a course assignment are required to sign in--confirm with one of the organizers that you have successfully signed in so you can receive credit for your participation. Oberlin's event is one of many such programs worldwide--follow everyone's collective impact on the Campaign Dashboard for Art+Feminism 2020!
Join us! We'll provide tutorials for beginners, reference books and materials, and snacks! People of all gender identities and expressions are invited to participate.
- Date: Saturday, March 7, 2020
- Time: noon-4 pm EST
- Location: Allen Memorial Art Museum, East Gallery
- Organizers: Allen Memorial Art Museum and Oberlin College Libraries
- Who should attend: People of all gender identities and expressions. Please ask your fellow attendees for their pronouns of choice!
- Hashtags: #artandfeminism #editingAF
- What to bring: Your laptop, power cord, and ideas for entries that need updating or creation
- ALSO: Please take a moment to familiarize yourself with the Safe Space/Brave Space Policy
- One more thing! Please complete our evaluation form after you participate.
Thanks for joining us!
What is Art+Feminism?
Art+Feminism is a campaign improving coverage of cis and transgender women, feminism and the arts on Wikipedia. From coffee shops and community centers to the largest museums and universities in the world, Art+Feminism is a do-it-yourself and do-it-with-others campaign teaching people of all gender identities and expressions to edit Wikipedia. Since 2014 Art+Feminism has hosted edit-a-thons and has gathered in 500+ events globally to create and improve thousands of Wikipedia pages.
Creating an Account
Advice on selecting your username: Though you can choose to use your real name, as some Wikipedia editors do, you can also choose a pseudonym–Wikipedia does not require one one or the other. If you're completing a course assignment, remember that your professor and classmates will likely see your username (and know whose it is). Furthermore, anyone can look at a Wikipedia article's edit history and see the username of anyone who has edited the article. Consider if you want a username that reflects your personal identity. Usernames that imply they are shared by multiple users are not recommended (e.g., GSFS101-ABC).
Want more advice? Wikipedia's Username Policy has guidance for new users on how to choose.
Articles to Work On
Oberlin Art + Feminism Suggested Pages
List compiled by Oberlin College staff and faculty of articles that need to be created or edited, many of them related to objects in the AMAM collection
A tool for browsing snippets of Wikipedia articles that lack citations; browse randomly or search by topic!
Black Lunch Table
A list of visual artists of the African Diaspora who are under-represented on Wikipedia
Wikipedia:WikiProject Women in Red/Art
The Women in Red (WiR) WikiProject's list of "missing articles" about women who are (or have been) notable for their work as visual artists--painters, sculptors, printmakers, ceramics, fiber artists, installation artists, and others who work in the fine arts.
Editing a Wikipedia Article
Oxford Art Online
A suite of four comprehensive art encyclopedias. Useful for scholarly overviews and excellent bibliographies.
American National Biography
Biographical information on tens of thousands of prominent Americans. Entries are signed by the authors and include bibliographic references.
Biography Reference Bank
Biographical information about over 500,000 people; includes images, full-text articles, and abstracts of biographical profiles, feature articles, interviews, essays, book reviews, performance reviews, speeches, and obituaries.
Art Full Text (1984 to date)
Indexes 350 art magazines and journals covering pre-historic to contemporary art. Some full text from 1995-date. For earlier dates search its companion database the Art Index Retrospective. Searching both databases simultaneously for publications dated 1929 to the present. Both databases index the Allen Memorial Art Museum Bulletin.
International Bibliography of Art (2008 to date)
Indexes 500 journals covering European art since antiquity, American art sincle the colonial period, and Global art since 1945. Preceded by the Bibliography of the History of Art.
Academic Search Complete
Multidisciplinary - good for nearly all subjects. Scholarly and trade journals, popular magazines, newspapers, conference proceedings, book reviews, and more.
Gender Studies Database
Covers the full spectrum of sexual diversity issues and gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. Source documents include professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, theses and dissertations, and more. Dates of Coverage: 1972 to date
Scholarly journal archive for the humanities, social sciences and natural sciences; current issues (usually the last 2-5 years) are not digitized by JSTOR and may be obtained elsewhere.
Includes the full text of more than one hundred current or historically significant Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender (LGBT) journals, magazines and regional newspapers, and books.
Sources of Royalty Free Images
Over 1 million images selected to support research and reaching in art history from pre-historical to contemporary media.
Cleveland Museum of Art
30,000 public-domain artworks from the CMA’s world-renowned collection of art Images from the CMA the public can use to share, collaborate, remix, and reuse for commercial and non-commercial purposes
Getty Images, Inc.
Royalty-free images Getty Images, Inc., a visual media company that supplies stock images, editorial photography, video, and music for business and consumers
Metropolitan Museum of Art
Images of works of art The Met believes to be in the public domain, widely and freely available for unrestricted use
OpenGLAMs (Galleries, Libraries, Archives, and Museums)
List of collections from around the world that provide digital scans or photos that can be freely used without any restrictions
Biographical Dictionaries (on book cart)
Call Number: Art Library, N7391.65 .L34 1997
This book is based on a series of adventures in African countries from 1990-1994. It is about a process of interacting with African women from the perspective of a western artist and teacher, appreciating the diverse personal, historical and cultural circumstances that nurtured their creativity.
African Americans in the Visual Arts by
Call Number: Art Library, Reference, N6538.N5 O86 2003
Otfinoski's collective biography profiles almost 200 artists--painters, sculptors, illustrators, installation artists, video artists, performance artists, mixed-media artists, and others. Entries include a biography (usually 400-500 words), birth and death dates, type of artist, and a list of items for further reading or viewing; many include an excellent black-and-white photograph. One interesting feature is the compiler's attempt to relate events in each artist's life to works created. The author points out that he chose "few artists born after 1960 and only two born after 1970," noting that "of those artists now in their prime, many of them have been largely ignored by the white press, and their names cannot be found in many general biographical works on American artists." CHOICE
The Biographical Dictionary of Saskatchewan Artists by
Call Number: Art Library Ref., N6546.S2 B56 1990, vol. 1&2
Concise Dictionary of Women Artists by
Call Number: Art Library, Reference N8354 .D532 2001
Includes approximately 200 complete entries from the award-winning Dictionary of Women Artists, as well as a selection of introductory essays from the main volume.
Contemporary Women Artists by
Call Number: Art Library, Reference, N8354 .C66 1999
This volume provides thorough biographical, bibliographical and critical information on 350 of the world's most prominent and influential 20th century women artists, including important new artists.
Defining the Renaissance 'Virtuosa' by
Call Number: Art Library N72.F45 J33 1997
Leonardo, Raphael and Michelangelo are familiar names that are often closely associated with the concepts of genius and masterpiece. But what about Sofonisba Anguissola, Lavinia Fontana, and Irene di Spilimbengo? Their names are unfamiliar and their works are literally unknown. Why? Defining the Renaissance 'Virtuosa' considers the language of art in relationship to the issues of gender difference through an examination of art criticism written between 1550 and 1800 on approximately forty women artists who were active in Renaissance Italy. Fredrika Jacobs demonstrates how these theoretical writings defined women artists, by linking artistic creation and biological procreation. She also examines the ambiguity of these women as both beautiful object and creator of beautiful object. Jacobs' study shows how deeply the biases of these early critics have inflected both subsequent reception of these Renaissance virtuose, as well as modern scholarship.
Dictionary of Women Artists by
Call Number: Art Library Reference, N8354 .D53 1997
Encyclopedia of Arab American Artists by
Call Number: Art Library, Reference N6538.A73 O94 2008
The rich history and culture of the Arab American people is found in the passionate works of its artists. Whether they be traditional media such as painting and calligraphy, or more sophisticated media such as digital work and installation, the pieces represent the beauty of heritage, the struggles of growing up in war-torn countries, the identity conflicts of female artists in male-dominated societies, and the issues surrounding migration to a Western culture very different from one's own. Many of the artists included here, though their works appear in museums and galleries throughout the world, have never before been featured in a reference book. Interviews conducted by the author provide a personal look into the experiences and creative processes of these artists. Artists included: *Etel Adnan *Wasma Chorbachi *Nihad Dukhan *Kahlil Gibran *Sari Khoury *Emily Jacir *Sari Khoury *Mamoun Sakkal *Mary Tuma *Madiha Umar *Afaf Zurayk
Encyclopedia of Asian American Artists by
Call Number: Art Reference, N6538. A83 H35 2007
Painters, photographers, sculptors, and installation artists are among the seventy-five artists represented in this guide to Asian American artists. Within each entry, Kara Hallmark describes the artists' early life, education and training, and impact on the art world both in their country of heritage as well as the U.S. While some artists dismiss any notion of their heritage influencing their work, others describe how assimilation and immigration affected themselves and their families, particularly those affected by World War II and the Japanese internment camps. Interviews with living artists, as well as extensive images, enhance entries that celebrate the contributions of Asian American Artists to American art.
Encyclopedia of Jewish American Artists by
Call Number: Art Library, Reference, N6538.J4 B37 2007
Presents over 80 19th- and 20-century Jewish American artists, ranging from the critically neglected Theresa Bernstein, Ruth Gikow, and Jennings Tofel, to the well-known Eva Hesse, Roy Lichtenstein, and Larry Rivers. Covering painters, sculptors, printmakers, and photographers, as well as newer forms such as video, conceptual, and performance art, many essays include the artists' own words to flesh out perspectives on their art and their Jewish identity.
An Encyclopedia of Women Artists of the American West by
Call Number: Art Library, N8214.5.U6 K68 1998
This encyclopedia is a biographical dictionary of some 1,000 women artists of the American West. The product of a twenty-year, coast-to-coast research project by authors Phil Kovinick and Marian Yoshiki-Kovinick, it offers accurate, concise introductions to women painters, graphic artists, and sculptors, all of whom achieved recognition as depictors of Western subjects between the 1840s and 1980. Their styles range from representationalism to early modernism, while their works depict everything from bold landscapes and scenes of intensive action to studies of Native Americans, pioneers, ranchers, farmers, wildlife, and flora.
Heritage, the National Women's Art Book by
Call Number: Art Library, Reference, N7400 .H43 1995
North American Women Artists of the Twentieth Century by
Call Number: Art Library Reference, N6503 .N67 1995
A reference source for biographical information on women artists from Canada, Mexico, and the USA. The 1,500 entries cover those artists that were born before 1960, and who have worked in a wide range of arts from painting and sculpture to performance art.
Pioneering Spirits by
Call Number: Art Library, N8354 .R46 1997
Meet the women who have created art throughout history, from ancient Greek potters and painters to luminaries from the past 200 years.
Call Number: Art Library, N6512 .M78 2000
At the end of the 1970s, Eleanor Munro embarked upon a series of interviews with some of the leading visual artists in the nation, including Georgia O'Keeffe, Alice Neel, Helen Frankenthaler, Louise Bourgeois, and Jennifer Bartlett. The resulting portraits led to a book as significant and exciting as the artists within it. Now Munro has added a new generation of women-including Kiki Smith and Julie Taymor-and a new introduction to her landmark entry in the literature of visual art, ensuringits status as an invaluable resource well into the twenty-first century.
Other Visions, Other Voices by
Call Number: Art Library, N72 .F45 V66 1994
Covers the works of fifteen major women artists working in the Los Angeles area and how they use their paintings, prints, murals, masks, installations, and other art forms to comment critically on political and social themes from a feminist perspective. The opening chapter presents a detailed summary of the hidden history of women political artists who have worked in the United States for more than 100 years. It also provides a theoretical perspective on how the artworks in the book constitute the language of resistance against political oppression, sexism, racism, economic inequality, war, environmental degradation, and other forms of racial distress and injustice. Each subsequent chapter concentrates exclusively on a single contemporary woman artist activist.
Artists include: Kim Abeles; Jill Ansell; Karen Atkinson; Judy Baca; Beth Bachenheimer; Mariona Barkus; Barbara Carrasco; Eva Cockcroft; Kerr + Malley; Margaret Lazzari; Beverly Naidus; Sheila Pinkel; Erica Rothenberg; Pat Ward Williams
Uncovered and recovered : women artists in the modernist tradition ; paintings from the collection of Jeri Louise Waxenberg, February 12-March 22, 1999 by
Call Number: Art Library, N8354 .U57 1999
Women Artists by
Call Number: Art Library, N8354 .W653 2001
A comprehensive guide to 20th century female artists. From painting, sulpture and photography to concept art, performance, body art, video, feminist actions, installations, and interactive projects - the book covers a diversity of themes and media and artists from O'Keeffe to Rachel Whiteread.
Women Artists and Writers by
Call Number: Art Library, NX180.F4 E44 1994
In this beautifully illustrated and provocative study, Bridget Elliott and Jo-Ann Wallace reappraise women's literary and artistic contribution to Modernism. Through comparative case studies, including Natalie Barney, Virginia Woolf, Vanessa Bell and Gertrude Stein, the authors examine the ways in which women responded to Modernism and created their artistic identity, and how their work has been positioned in relation to that of men. Bringing together women's studies, visual arts and literature, Women Writers and Artists makes an important contribution to 20th century cultural history. It puts forward a powerful case against the academic division of cultural production into departments of Art History and English Studies, which has served to marginalize the work of female Modernists.
Women Artists in History by
Call Number: Art Library, N43 . S57 1996
This revised edition reflects the wealth of recent feminist research in the history of art. The author's goal is to offer students an insight into all phases of women's contributions to visual culture.
Women Artists of Color by
Call Number: Art Library, Reference, N8354 .W656 1999
Critical essays on 20th-century female artists of color that focus on how these distinguished artists achieved success, what makes their work important both to the art world and to their specific communities, and potential influence. Four ethnic groups are represented: African American, Asian Pacific American, Latin American, and Native American. Similarities and differences among the artists are explored. Early feminist art of the 1970's concentrated on gender with less consideration given to race or class, yet to many artists of color/ ethnicity significantly shapes their identities and art. Women artists of color have expanded the scope of protest art, fusing the past and current history with gender and race and deconstructing stereotypical mainstream representations of their gender and ethnic identities. A wide variety of media are included, from traditional painting and sculpture to newer forms such as video, conceptual, and performance art. Entries include biographical information and a listing of each artist's exhibitions.