Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The 1920s by
Call Number: Art Library, GT596 .P383 1997
The 1920s saw radical changes in dress such as the drop waist, the bias cut, beading, the flapper, the diamond choker, and the cigarette-holder. It was perhaps the first modern decade of the 20th century.
All Sewn Up: Millinery, Dressmaking, Clothing and Costume
This digital collection from the University of Wisconsin-Madison Libraries includes millinery, dressmaking, clothing and costume books from the first half of the 20th century (1907 – 1940’s).
London College of Fashion Archive
The London College of Fashion College Archive is a collection of historical materials which chronicle the history of the College from its origins as two early needle trade schools in the early 20th c. to the 1970's.
This database contains images of black-and-white and sepia photographs from the Archive depicting a wide range of subjects taught at the schools over the years. These include, fashion, design, clothing technology, dressmaking, tailoring, millinery, furriery, upholstery, embroidery, beauty, hairdressing, wigmaking, physical education, science, drama, and general studies.
London College of Fashion: Paper Patterns
A collection of paper patterns dating from the 1920s to the 21st c. Only the covers have be digitized; the patterns themselves are not visible.
Fashion Illustrated by
Call Number: Art Library, GT596.T67 1975
A year-by-year summary of fashion from 1920 - 1950. Most illustrations are primary sources, copied from magazines, catalogs, and ads and include brief descriptions. Designers and trends are also discussed. Includes patterns for 15 garments.
Everyday Fashions of the Twenties As Pictured in Sears and Other Catalogs by
Call Number: Art Library, GT615.E93 1981
Accurate record of actual dress of the Roaring Twenties in over 150 pages of mail-order catalogs, selected and with text by Stella Blum. Over 750 illustrations, captions.
Sears: [Catalog]. (Print copies)
1897, 1928/29 - 1957 (incomplete), 1961, 1970
Call # 658.872 Se17; Location: Storage
Print advertising images from U.S. and Canadian publications; organized by product category: Radio, Television, Transportation, Beauty and Hygiene, and World War II.
All American Ads of The 20s by
Call Number: Art Library, NC998.5.A1 A615 2004
The dawn of American consumerism. Prohibition made liquor illegal and all the more fun to drink. Speakeasies, luxury cars, women's liberation, bathtub gin and a booming economy kept the country's mood on the up-and-up. Women sheared off their locks and taped their chests, donning flapper dresses and dancing the Charleston until their legs gave out. Gangsters flourished in big cities and gangster movies flourished in Hollywood. It was the roaring twenties in America: a singular time in history, a lull between two world wars and the last gas before the nation's descent into the Great Depression. Forging the way into the future like a modern streamliner in a sea of antiquity, advertising in the 20s sought to bring avant-garde into the mainstream -- which it did with great success.
Use magazines for images of contemporary clothing and hints about the broader cultural context.
Call Number: Main Library, Periodicals
Publication Date: 1867 - 2018 (print edition)
Also available online, although online editions often exclude advertising.
Good Housekeeping. 1887-1976 (incomplete)
Print: Main Library, 1887-1976 (incomplete)
Ladies’ Home Journal. 1884-1976
Print: Main Library,1889-1976
Saturday Evening Post
Call Number: Main Library, Periodicals
Publication Date: 1899-1974
Also available online from 1821 to the present, although online editions often exclude advertising.
Call Number: Main Periodicals
Publication Date: 1923 - the present