LibGuides: FYSP 173: The French Revolution: Scholarly Article Databases

Databases

This is a small selection of databases that may be useful for your topic. For more, see our A-Z list of databases, which you can sort by subject or type of source included. The discipline-based research guides also include database suggestions for literature, History, and other subjects.

Multidisciplinary

Summon This link opens in a new window
Searches more than 300 million items - books, scholarly articles, newspaper articles, data, digital audio, digital video, digital images, government documents and more. It draws from the library catalog (OBIS), many of the full text and article indexing databases, as well as digital repositories from colleges, universities, research centers, and other open-access archives on the web.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary - good for nearly all subjects. Scholarly and trade journals, popular magazines, newspapers, conference proceedings, book reviews, and more.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal archive for the humanities, social sciences and natural sciences; current issues (usually the last 2-5 years) are not digitized by JSTOR and may be obtained elsewhere.

European History

Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Index to thousands of academic journals covering world history (excluding the US and Canada) from 1450 to present, in over 40 languages, with full-text available. Dates of Coverage: 1955 to date

Finding Full Text

Many databases on the library's website include the full text of articles. Click on the PDF or HTML icon to download the article.

If full text is not available, click the Find It or 360 Link icons to see if there is access from another source.

Look for displayed for each item in the library's databases. In Google Scholar, look for Find Full Text @ Oberlin. Access via publisher websites is generally limited to subscribers.

Full text is not always accessible for immediate download. The 360 Link may lead to an intermediary page offering access through Interlibrary loan. If you have trouble, consult the library staff.

Interlibrary Loan

Can't find what you need at Oberlin? For books, try OhioLINK. For books not available through OhioLINK and for other types of materials, use Interlibrary Loan (ILL).

ILL lets you borrow materials from non-OhioLINK libraries, including print books, scanned journal articles, musical scores, videos, theses/dissertations, and more.

Scholarly and Peer-Reviewed Sources

Both scholarly and peer-reviewed articles are written by experts in academic or professional fields. Scholarly articles are published in journals for specific academic disciplines. Many scholarly journals are also peer-reviewed.

Peer-reviewed articles are submitted to reviewers who are experts in the field. Because the reviewers specialize in the same scholarly area as the author, they are considered the author’s peers (hence “peer review”).

General Keyword Searching Techniques

Concept	Explanation	Example
Phrase Searching	Search for an exact phrase with quotation marks	"French Revolution" "Empress Josephine"
Boolean Logic
AND	Narrow your search with AND - requires all of the words	France AND Revolution
OR	Broaden your search with OR - requires any of the words	France OR French
NOT	Exclude words from your search with NOT - only see results without the word	women NOT (clothing OR fashion)
Truncation
*	Broaden your search with * - search with the root of a word to catch any ending.	revolution*