Background Information
Knowing essential context like people, events, and a timeline can save you time when searching and evaluating what you find. These databases search across large collections of scholarly encyclopedias and dictionaries at once. Entries can be helpful for general understanding, keywords, and mining the reference sections.
- Cambridge Histories This link opens in a new windowHistorical overviews and contextual essays from leading scholars on topics across a broad range of time periods and geographies. Chapters can be downloaded as PDFs and are printable.
The Cambridge History of the Age of the Atlantic Revolutions
Volume II delves into the revolutions of France, Europe, and Haiti, with particular focus on the French Revolution and the changes it wrought. The demarcation between property and power, and the changes in family life, religious practices, and socio-economic relations are explored, as well as the preoccupation with violence and terror, both of which were conspicuous aspects of the revolution. Simultaneous movements in England, Germany, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, and Poland-Lithuania are also discussed. The volume ends with the Haitian Revolution and its impact on neighboring countries, revealing how the revolution was comprised of several smaller revolutions, and how, once the independent black State of Haiti was established, an effort was made to fulfill the promises of freedom and equality.
Call Number: Ebook. See volume 2 - France, Europe, and HaitiISBN: 9781108475983Publication Date: 2023
- Oxford Research Encyclopedias This link opens in a new window
Designed to be an authoritative resource of reference content in a wide array of academic fields, including the humanities, social sciences, and science.
- Oxford Reference This link opens in a new windowHundreds of dictionaries, general reference, language reference, and subject reference works from Oxford University Press.
Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
The Encyclopedia of the French Revolutionary and Napoleonic WarsCall Number: Main Oversize DC220 .E53 2006 vol. 1-3ISBN: 1851096469Publication Date: 2005Includes nearly 900 alphabetically organized, fully cross-referenced entries with vivid biographies of politicians, sovereigns, and commanders; accounts of battles, weaponry, and diplomatic affairs; insights into the art, music, and culture of the times; and more.
Historical Dictionary of the French RevolutionCall Number: EbookISBN: 9780810878914Publication Date: 2015The dictionary section has over 400 cross-referenced entries on the causes and origins; the roles of significant persons; crucial events and turning points; important institutions and organizations; and the economic, social, and intellectual factors involved in the event that gave birth to the Declaration of the Rights of Man and Citizen.
