Citation Management
Citation management (or reference management) software can help you keep track of your sources, generate autoformatted reference lists, and more. Citation management software can be a powerful tool when you're working on an annotated bibliography.
Zotero
Zotero is free and open-source software, featuring desktop and iOS applications, word-processor plugins, and a browser add-on or extension.
Learn more about Zotero in our guide to Citation.
RefWorks
RefWorks is a proprietary software application offered by ProQuest, featuring a cloud-based application, and a Save to RefWorks browser bookmark function.
As an Oberlin student, you have free access to RefWorks citation management software. As long as you create an account while you are enrolled, you can keep the account after you graduate—for free and in perpetuity.
Introduction
APA style is widely used in the social sciences. Citations are created using both a detailed reference list appearing at the end of a paper and brief in-text citations that direct readers to particular sources from that reference list.
APA Resources
-
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
by
The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition, is the official source for APA Style.
Call Number: BF76.7 .P83 2020 (Terrell, Conservatory, and Science Libraries)ISBN: 9781433832154Publication Date: 2019 -
Concise Guide to APA Style
by
Call Number: Terrell Ref Desk BF76.7 .C66 2020ISBN: 9781433832734Publication Date: 2019Designed specifically for undergraduate writing, this easy-to-use pocket guide is adapted from the seventh edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association.
Introduction
Chicago citation style is used primarily in the humanities, including art history, history, literature, and politics. It may also be used in the sciences and social sciences. Chicago style has two formats:
- Notes and Bibliography style is preferred by the humanities. Citations are provided in footnotes or endnotes, and a bibliography
- Author-Date style is preferred by the sciences and social sciences. Sources are briefly cited within the text using parentheses, and the full details are provided in a works cited list.
Chicago Resources
-
The Chicago Manual of Style
by
Call Number: Z253 .U69 2017ISBN: 9780226287058Publication Date: 2017Technologies may change, but the need for clear and accurate communication never goes out of style. That is why for more than one hundred years The Chicago Manual of Style has remained the definitive guide for anyone who works with words.
-
Chicago Manual of Style - OnlineThe official online version for the latest edition of the Chicago Manual of Style.
-
Chicago-Style Citation Quick GuideA brief overview of citing common resources from the official online Chicago Manual of Style.
Introduction
MLA is most often used in English, rhetoric, foreign languages, and the humanities. Citations are created using both a detailed works cited list appearing at the end of a paper and brief in-text citations that direct readers to particular sources from that reference list.
The examples and rules described on this page are intended as a quick reference for general MLA citation. For more sources with exhaustive rules, exceptions to rules, and types of sources not described here, see the MLA resources below.
MLA Resources
-
MLA Handbook
by
Call Number: LB2369 .G53 2021ISBN: 9781603293518Publication Date: 2021"The ninth edition of the MLA Handbook is a textbook and reference guide that offers student writers and writing instructors guidance on creating works-cited-list entries in MLA style using the template of core elements. It features advice on punctuation, grammar, inclusive language, formatting research papers, and in-text citations. Includes an appendix of sample works-cited-list entries, illustrations, and an index"
Get Citation Help
We are happy to help you with your citation and paraphrasing questions at the Research Help Desk or during individual consultations.
- Our full citation guide provides online resources and citation examples.
- We have copies of the major citation styles manuals at the Research Help Desks in the Libraries.
- We support two citation management software, RefWorks and Zotero, which can help you to organize your references and create your citations.
The Oberlin College Writing and Speaking Center can also assist with writing your research paper and citations. They provide assistance with writing mechanics, including citation, developing a research question or thesis, developing an argument to support your thesis, reviewing your paper for sentence-level corrections, and editing for flow and clarity.
Ways to Get Help
-
Ask a LibrarianGet help from an Oberlin librarian.
-
Citation GuideOberlin's citation guide for major citation styles, citation management software, and strategies to avoid plagiarism.
-
Avoiding PlagiarismA guide to strategies for avoiding plagiarism.
-
Oberlin College Writing and Speaking CenterThe Writing Center provides free drop-in writing consultations and appointments.