Where to Find Video (Physical & Streaming)
Search.Libraries
In Search.Libraries, you can filter your results for Physical Items @Oberlin, or items Available Online).
To explore documentaries:
Documentaries
The following are the best databases for finding documentaries:
-
Academic Video Online This link opens in a new windowStreaming documentaries, films, and demonstrations on topics including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
-
Bloomsbury Video Library This link opens in a new window
Filmed performances, fiction films, documentaries and instructional videos from the visual and performing arts, film, and history. Includes indie films and shorts, avant-garde performances, interviews with renowned writers, artists, choreographers, performers and practitioners, documentaries on an international range of themes, traditions, and historical figures. (1880-present)
-
Docuseek This link opens in a new window
Educational documentaries and fiction feature films curated to help students examine the issues related to social, ecological, political, and environmental justice around the world.
-
Films on Demand This link opens in a new windowA streaming video collection that provides unlimited access to 300,000 video clips in numerous subject areas. Includes captioning with interactive and searchable transcripts on all titles, as well as instructions for embedding videos in learning management systems.
For a full list of databases at Oberlin, check out our Databases A-Z, which you can filter by Subject (e.g., Cinema & Media Studies) or Type (e.g., Video).
Search.Libraries
In Search.Libraries, you can filter your results for Physical Items @ Oberlin, or items Available Online.
To explore feature films:
Databases
The following are the best databases for finding feature films:
-
Feature Films for Education This link opens in a new windowHundreds of streaming full-length feature films for educational instructional purposes. This collection focuses on both current and hard-to-find titles, including documentaries, literary adaptations, blockbusters, classics, environmental titles, foreign films, social issues, animation studies, Academy Award winners, and more.
-
Klassiki This link opens in a new window
Classic cinema from Russia, Ukraine, the Caucasus and Central Asia, including silent classics through to the Soviet era and into the 2010s. Note: You must email ages@oberlin.edu to sign up for an account before you can use the platform.
-
World Cinema Video Collection This link opens in a new windowStreaming feature films from Africa, America, Asia, Europe, Latin America and the Middle East, including films from the silent era, from the mid-20th century, as well as award-winning contemporary works.
For a full list of databases at Oberlin, check out our Databases A-Z, which you can filter by Subject (e.g., Cinema & Media Studies) or Type (e.g., Feature Films, or Video).
Search.Libraries
In Search.Libraries, you can filter your results for Physical Items @ Oberlin, or items Available Online).
To explore television programs, commercials, and more:
Databases
The following are some best databases for finding television broadcast recordings (including news, advertisements, and more):
-
AdViews This link opens in a new window
Online access to thousands of historic commercials, representing a wide range of vintage brand advertising from the first four decades of mainstream commercial television. AdViews is a collaborative project of the Duke University Digital Collections Program and the John W. Hartman Center for Sales, Advertising & Marketing History. Coverage 1950s-1990s
-
AP Archive This link opens in a new windowThe film and video archive of the Associated Press is freely available on YouTube. The collection includes over 1.7 million global news and entertainment stories dating back to 1895.
-
EUScreen This link opens in a new windowThousands of video clips produced by a variety of European television stations throughout the 20th and 21st centuries, that provide context for Europe's history and culture. Clips include, for example, a German broadcast of the fall of the Berlin Wall, a 1972 Polish fashion show, Maria Callas performing in Paris in 1958, and advice about how young men ought to behave from a 1960s London charm school.
For a full list of databases at Oberlin, check out our Databases A-Z, which you can filter by Subject (e.g., Cinema & Media Studies) or Type (e.g., Feature Films, or Video).
Video recordings in physical formats (e.g., Blu-Ray, DVD, VHS) are available at Oberlin College Libraries, and can be found using Search.Libraries.
To explore video recordings in physical formats:
Where to Find Audio (Physical & Streaming)
Use Search.Libraries to find books, journal articles, scores, audio, video, and more—all from a single integrated starting point.
To find audio in Search.Libraries, you can:
- Apply the Audio pre-filter before searching
- Filter results by Resource Type > Audio
Audio recordings in physical formats (e.g., CD, LP, cassette) are available at Oberlin College Libraries, and can be found using Search.Libraries.
To explore audio recordings in physical formats:
The following databases may be useful for finding a wide variety of audio recordings.
For a full list of databases at Oberlin, check out our Databases A-Z, which you can filter by Type (e.g., Audio).
-
Library of Congress Digital Collections This link opens in a new windowGateway to the Library of Congress's vast resources of digitized American historical materials. Comprising more than 9 million items that document U.S. history and culture, the content is organized into more than 100 thematic collections.
-
Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new windowStreaming audio, liner notes, and biographical information on composers and performers.
-
Naxos Spoken Word Library This link opens in a new windowContains the world's greatest literature - many classic novels, plays and poetry, from medieval times to the twenty-first century under various categories, such as Children's Classics, Classic Fiction, Shakespeare's Plays. New titles are added every month.