Welcome to the French Research Guide
This guide is designed to kickstart student research in French by highlighting key resources, databases, and strategies in the discipline.
French Key Resources
The following are some best bets for starting French research. For a full list of databases at Oberlin, check out our Databases A-Z.
-
Cairn.info This link opens in a new window
Cairn.info provides access to 600+ French language publications in the arts, humanities, social sciences, education, and public health, including books, journals, magazines, and encyclopediae. Access to abstracts and indexing is available for all resources; open, full-text access is available for many resources.
-
Érudit This link opens in a new window
Érudit is a multi-university publishing consortium, providing access to 300+ Canadian and Francophone scholarly and cultural publications, including open, full-text access to 150+ scholarly publications.
-
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Index to books, essays, and journal articles on modern languages, literatures, fiction, folklore and linguistics. Topics include literary theory, criticism, folk literature and belief systems, linguistics, semantics, translation, dramatic arts, and history of printing and publishing. Covers literature worldwide and includes materials in all genres and in foreign languages. Dates of Coverage: 1926 to date
-
Portail Persée This link opens in a new window
Portail Persée is a French-language resource providing open, full-text access to French scholarly publications (journals, books, conference proceedings, serial publications, primary sources, etc.) in the natural sciences, humanities, and social sciences.
