Finding Querelles
Strategy 1
Search Summon for books with a subject of Women -- Early works to 1800 and "all fields" for the name of the women profiled in your querelle (e.g. Zenobia). Be sure to include any alternate spellings of the name with an "OR" boolean operator. 
Summon can search the full text of some books that Oberlin only owns in print. There's no guarantee that there is a substantive discussion of the woman in question in the the text, but it can often tell you if her name appears at all.
Strategy 2
Search one of these online collections of primary sources directly for texts that reference the woman profiled in your querelle.
- Women Writers Online This link opens in a new windowA full-text collection of early womens' writing in English, published between 1526 and 1850, focusing on rare texts; wide range of topic and genres included.
- Early English Books Online This link opens in a new windowSearchable scans of nearly all existing English books up to the year 1700; this collection now contains over 100,000 of over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions, as well as the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) collection and the Early English Books Tract Supplement. Dates of Coverage: 1473-1700
- Internet Medieval Sourcebook This link opens in a new windowPrimary sources from the Medieval period, both entire texts and excerpted, arranged by period, location and theme. Many are translated into English.
- AM-Explorer This link opens in a new windowAccess millions of pages of primary source collections spanning content from the 15th-21st centuries.
Oberlin owns the series "The Other Voice in Early Modern Europe" both in print and online. To search across the full online collection at once, open ProQuest Ebook Central, navigate to the advanced search screen, and combine a Series Title search for "The Other Voice in Early Modern Europe" with the name of the women profiled in your querelles.
- eBook Central (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowFull text electronic editions of 150,000 ebooks.
You can also read and browse these volumes in print by looking them up by title in OBIS, either as an entire series or by searching for individual volumes by title (e.g. "The Story of Sappho.")
Strategy 3
Work from a list of writers who secondary sources tell us might have written querelles. (The sources below have good lists of these authors).
Encyclopedia of Women in the Renaissance by Call Number: Main Reserve HQ1148 .W67 2007ISBN: 9781851097722Publication Date: 2007-03-01Covers the contributions of women to European culture in the period between 1350 and 1700 in England, France, and Italy.Early Feminist Theory and the "Querelle des Femmes", 1400-1789 by
Publication Date: 1982
Once you have the name of a writer who (not the subject of a querelle, but its author), use OBIS to conduct an author search to see which works Oberlin owns by those writers.
If Oberlin has an ebook available, search inside the full text for the name of the woman profiled in your querelle.
If Oberlin does not have an ebook available, search inside the book on Google Books to see if the work mentions the woman profiled in your querelle. In the example below, you can see that Lucrezia Marinella references Zenobia several times in her text, and that means it would likely be worthwhile to obtain a print copy of this book.
If you need access to a book that Oberlin only owns in print and our copy is checked out, use the search OhioLink button to see if an additional copy that you can request is available.
If there's no electronic version at all available to search inside for the name of the woman profiled in your querelle, look at a print copy from the stacks, and use the index or table of contents to identify references to them.
Research Help
-
Chat with us during online help hours
-
Email us: reference@oberlin.edu
-
Sign up for a research appointment
-
Watch a "How do I" video tutorial
