Using the Con Library
There are two places you can look, depending on how your brain processes information: our Call Number Directory and our Floor Plans. Generally, if the call number begins with a letter (M, ML, or MT usually), it is a Library of Congress call number. If it begins with just numbers (782, for example), it's likely a Dewey Decimal call number.
Yes! In fact, audiovisual materials (DVDs, CDs, etc.) MUST be requested as only staff members have access to the shelves. Once you find your item in Search.Libraries, make sure you're logged in, and a green Request button will appear. Click that, fill out any info, and you'll be notified when it's ready to pick up at the circulation desk!
What databases do we subscribe to?
For music-specific databases, visit the Con Lib's Search Tools page. For ALL Oberlin databases in a searchable format, visit our Databases A-Z page.
How can I find out more about Con Lib Special Collections?
Visit the Special Collections page! If you'd like to request an item, visit the Visit Us page and fill out the form.
Request a Purchase
The Conservatory Library is still working to expand our music theater collection! If you are looking for a score or book about musicals that we don't have, consider filling out our Suggest a Purchase form!
Scanning
The Conservatory Library has two photocopiers (one upstairs, one downstairs) for student use. Scanning and copying is free! Be sure to familiarize yourself with applicable copyright laws before copying music. Check out this video below for tips and tricks to make beautiful scans and copies.