Using the Con Library
There are two places you can look, depending on how your brain processes information: our Call Number Directory and our Floor Plans. Generally, if the call number begins with a letter (M, ML, or MT usually), it is a Library of Congress call number. If it begins with just numbers (782, for example), it's likely a Dewey Decimal call number.
Yes! In fact, audiovisual materials (DVDs, CDs, etc.) MUST be requested as only staff members have access to the shelves. Once you find your item in Search.Libraries, make sure you're logged in, and a green Request button will appear. Click that, fill out any info, and you'll be notified when it's ready to pick up at the circulation desk!
What databases do we subscribe to?
For music-specific databases, visit the Con Lib's Search Tools page. For ALL Oberlin databases in a searchable format, visit our Databases A-Z page.
How can I find out more about Con Lib Special Collections?
Visit the Special Collections page! If you'd like to request an item, visit the Visit Us page and fill out the form.
OhioLINK
OhioLINK is a group (aka a consortium) of academic libraries within the state of Ohio. Being part of this group allows for cheaper and faster sharing between libraries! Part of the great thing about our transition to Search.Libraries (which ALL OhioLINK libraries switched to, even if it might look different at other libraries!) is you can directly request items through the catalog. All you need is your ObieID.
Find the item in Search.Libraries. If the item can be requested through OhioLINK and you are signed in, a box to request will appear under the "Get It (OhioLINK)" heading. Click request, fill out any required info, and you'll get an email when it's ready!
Unfortunately, digital items are a little trickier to share between libraries. OhioLINK is for physical items only. If something ONLY exists digitally and Oberlin doesn't have access, I'd recommend emailing a librarian.
It depends on how close the lending library is, the hours of the libraries, holidays, etc. In general, I'd say allow a week for delivery, but it can sometimes take more or less time. Most OhioLINK books and scores can be checked out for 6 weeks at a time, with up to 6 renewals. You have 1 week for multimedia items (CDs, etc.) and can renew up to 3 times. Exceptions occur, though, and sometimes the library will request items to be returned sooner.
OhioLINK items must be picked up at the circulation desk in Terrell Library in the Mudd Center. They should be returned there as well.
Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
Interlibrary Loan is a library lending to another library who lends to one of their patrons! No library can realistically hold everything, even in one subject, and academic libraries naturally have collections that reflect their school's faculty and student degree programs. Interlibrary loan helps fill in the gaps in libraries' collections.
If we don't have an item at Oberlin AND there are no OhioLINK options, Interlibrary Loan is the next step! If you don't need the entire item, you can also request scans of chapters and journal articles. For all things ILL, I'd recommend the Oberlin College Libraries help page on Interlibrary Loan.
The ILL Homepage! Unfortunately, it's not as simple as using your ObieID, as you will need your Library Barcode number. I'd recommend checking out the ILL help page if you need help creating an account or visit any of our libraries.
Ideally, you'd be able to find an item in Search.Libraries or WorldCat (basically an online catalog of thousands of libraries' materials) and just click request item. It's proving a little trickier than that for now! If the "Request Item" links aren't working, navigate to the ILL Homepage, log in, and place a request. Fill out all the information you know about the item; I'd suggest including a link to where you found the article or book.
For scans of chapters or articles, typically only a few business days.
For physical items or scores, it can vary quite a bit depending on how far away the other library is, among other factors. In general, I'd allow for at least two weeks for physical items, but I have had some requests take more or less time.
Interlibrary Loan items must be picked up at the circulation desk in Terrell Library in the Mudd Center. They must be returned there as well.
If you receive a scan of a chapter or article, they will be available for a limited time in your Interlibrary Loan account. Be sure to use and/or download your digital request before it expires!