Welcome to the Politics Research Guide
This guide is designed to kickstart student research in Politics by highlighting key resources, databases, and strategies in the discipline.
Politics Key Resources
The following are some best bets for starting research in International Politics.
For a full list of databases at Oberlin, check out our Databases A-Z, which you can filter by Subject for Politics – World.
-
PAIS Index (Public Affairs Information Service) This link opens in a new windowCovers all aspects of U.S. public policy and international affairs. Includes references to journal articles, books, government documents, grey literature, research reports and documents by NGOs, conference papers, and statistical reports. Dates of Coverage: 1915 to date
-
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, and conference proceedings in all fields of political science, including international relations, international law, and public administration and policy. Dates of Coverage: 1975--
The following are some best bets for starting research in United States Politics.
For a full list of databases at Oberlin, check out our Databases A-Z, which you can filter by Subject for Politics - American.
-
PAIS Index (Public Affairs Information Service) This link opens in a new windowCovers all aspects of U.S. public policy and international affairs. Includes references to journal articles, books, government documents, grey literature, research reports and documents by NGOs, conference papers, and statistical reports. Dates of Coverage: 1915 to date
-
State & County Quickfacts This link opens in a new windowProvides statistics for all states and counties, and for cities and towns with a population of 5,000 or more.
-
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, and conference proceedings in all fields of political science, including international relations, international law, and public administration and policy. Dates of Coverage: 1975--
