Databases
The library subscribes to hundreds of databases. The list below is a selection of discipline-focused or related databases to serve as a starting point. See the full A-Z list of databases for additional options.
Sociology
- SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new windowProvides full text of some journal articles, and indexing and abstracts for journals, books and conference papers. Covers all sub-fields of sociology, including criminology, gender, marriage & family studies, social work, social psychology, addictions, violence, and more. Covers scholarly publications in sociology, social work, and related fields. Contains 2.3 million articles and other materials (64% in full text) with deep coverage from 1960 and some back to 1882.
- Sociological Collection This link opens in a new windowProvides abstracts and full text of articles from 560 periodicals in sociology and related disciplines.
- Social Sciences Citation Index (via Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
Indexing and abstracts of millions of peer-reviewed articles in social science disciplines. Also includes book chapters, conference papers and other formats. Cited and citing reference searching.
Related Fields
Gender, Sexuality, and Feminist Studies
- Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window
Covers the full spectrum of sexual diversity issues and gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. Source documents include professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, theses and dissertations, and more. Dates of Coverage: 1972 to date
- LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
Includes the full text of more than one hundred current or historically significant Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender (LGBT) journals, magazines and regional newspapers, and books.
- Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
Nearly 800 essential sources including journals, newspapers, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, proceedings, reports, theses, dissertations, NGO studies, Web sites & Web documents, and grey literature. Dates of Coverage: 1972-
Criminal Justice
- Criminal Justice Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles in the areas of criminology, corrections, prisons, substance abuse and addictions, criminal law, policing, criminal investigation, probation, and parole.
- NCJRS Virtual LibraryThis site searches the National Criminal Justice Reference Service's Justice Information Center web site and the web sites of the agencies of the U.S. Department of Justice, Office of Justice Programs, and the White House Office of National Drug Control Policy.
Public Policy and Urban Studies
- PAIS Index (Public Affairs Information Service) This link opens in a new windowCovers all aspects of U.S. public policy and international affairs. Includes references to journal articles, books, government documents, grey literature, research reports and documents by NGOs, conference papers, and statistical reports. Dates of Coverage: 1915 to date
- Urban Studies Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes publications covering key areas of relevance to urban studies, including city and regional planning, urban affairs, community development, urban history, architecture, and more. Dates of coverage: 1973-present
