This site gives underrepresented composers a platform to have their music heard. Composers that submit works to … And We Were Heard are matched with top-notch
wind bands and engage in collaborative recording sessions. The resulting audio tracks are hosted on our site along with innovative ideas of how to support diverse voices in music.
The Institute for Composer Diversity is committed to the celebration, education, and advocacy of music created by composers from historically underrepresented genders, racial, ethnic, and cultural heritages, and sexual orientations as well as disabled composers.
An affiliate member of the International Alliance for Women in Music, the Society's mission is to promote interest in Kapralova and other women in music through scholarly research, education, and special projects, often in partnership with schools of music, public broadcasters, publishing houses, and other organizations.
The Kassia Database is a resource geared toward aiding singers, instructors of voice, pianists, researchers, and music lovers to discover and celebrate art song by women composers. The database includes songs from the Baroque period through the 21st century, and have been categorized by level, voice type, language, composer, and composer dates
Focuses on women making various kinds of experimental/avant garde music. Some of these artists may also work within more mainstream forms, but they are included here because of their other work that is more challenging.
Dedicated to helping to bring greater diversity to the ranks of classical music performers, composers, and audiences by making the music of Black composers available to everyone. MBC’s Living Composers Directory is designed for those seeking to commission; for performers, conductors, and concert programmers seeking existing music; and for other researchers and scholars of contemporary classical music.
Discover solo and chamber repertoire for flute, oboe, clarinet, bassoon, saxophone, and horn. The directories focus specifically on the work of women, transgender & gender non-conforming individuals, and/or Black, Indigenous, or persons of color.
We celebrate the vast range of orchestral music by women, and encourage orchestras to program it! All around us people are suddenly aware of long-ingrained sexist practices, and questioning their entrenched status. We work to reveal the centuries of music by women, much of it lost to history due to gender bias – and help provide information and resources to make that music available.
Brass Music of Black Composers by Aaron HorneThe main body of the book is divided into sections devoted to African, African American, Afro-European, and Afro-Latino composers. Within each section composers are arranged alphabetically; each entry provides biographical information as well as commission, duration, instrumentation, date of publication, premiere, publisher, discography for each composition. Backmatter includes a Brass Music Index which groups the music by numbers, medium, and ensembles; a title index; discography; and bibliography.
The Guide to Horn Ensemble Repertoire by Front Cover Rebecca Boehm ShafferThis compilation examines selected horn ensemble compositions composed for five or more horns, presenting specifications for each piece, using a chart that lists pertinent information: composer, arranger, ensemble size and instrumentation, number of movements, duration, score availability, publisher, difficulty level, and more. Also included are objective annotations limited to general style characteristics, form, and extended techniques.
Call Number: Con Re ML128.B7D496
Publication Date: Con Ref ML128.B7D496
Guide to the Solo Horn Repertoire by Linda Dempf; Richard SeraphinoffThis annotated resource of solo repertoire for the horn documents in detail the rich catalogue of original solo compositions for the instrument. Intended as a guide for practical use and easy reference, it is organized into three large sections: works for unaccompanied horn, works for horn and keyboard, and works for horn and ensemble.
A Horn Player's Guide to Orchestral Excerpts by Linda Anne FarrThis guide provides a composer index to over 90 excerpts contained in 54 volumes of orchestral horn literature. This guide includes both orchestral and chamber horn parts found in orchestral excerpt books, whether the parts are complete or incomplete. An annotated bibliography of the 54 excerpt books is also included.
Call Number: Con Ref ML128.H67 F4
Publication Date: 1978
A Trumpeter's Guide to Orchestral Excerpts by Anne Hardin (Editor)This index includes over 1700 orchestral excerpts and are indexed alphabetically by composer. These excerpts include parts found in study books and orchestral scores, both complete and incomplete. There is an annotated bibliography of 169 excerpt books that follows the index.
Trombone Chamber Music by Harry J. ArlingThis bibliography is a compilation of chamber compositions involving trombone as the only brass instrument. This listing of works includes compositions written for trombone with various combinations of percussion, voice, woodwinds, strings, keyboard, and tape.
Call Number: Con Ref ML128.T76A7
Publication Date: 1978
Guide to the Tuba Repertoire by R. Winston Morris (Editor); Daniel Perantoni (Editor)Guide to the Tuba Repertoire is the most comprehensive investigation ever undertaken into the literature and discography of any single musical instrument. Under the direction of R. Winston Morris and Daniel Perantoni, this publication represents more than 40 years of research by dozens of leading professionals throughout the world. The guide defines the current status of the tuba and documents its growth since its inception in 1835.
Call Number: Con Ref ML970 .T83 2006
Publication Date: 2006
Tuba Music Guide by R. Winston MorrisThis book organizes compositions under the name of the composer, and includes editor, transcriber, and publisher information, as well as the range of pieces.