Company Data and Financial Ratios
-
Financial Valuation
by
ISBN: 9781119880936Publication Date: 2024-12-05A comprehensive guide to the theory and application of valuation. Covers the latest approaches to the valuation of closely held businesses, nonpublic entities, intangibles, and other assets, with comprehensive discussion on valuation theory, a consensus view on application, and related tools. -
:max_bytes(150000):strip_icc():format(webp)/GettyImages-1299599846-a577f02048194b328249035e4cd097ad.jpg)
Investopedia: 6 Basic Financial Ratios
by
Publication Date: 2025 -
:max_bytes(150000):strip_icc():format(webp)/ratioanalysis-Final-6b8f05a58b3e4a8b9055000cb874305d.jpg)
Investopedia: Financial Ratio Analysis
by
Publication Date: 2025
-
Bloomberg TerminalFind ratio metrics with the 'FA' (financial analysis) or the 'RV' (relative value) function.
-
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Full-text global news sources, including newspapers, newswires, television and radio transcripts, numerous regional and industry publications, and images from Reuters, along with financial data including business ratios. Only 3 Oberlin users at one time.
- Open Factiva. Use the "Switch Factiva" button to toggle to the classic Factiva interface with tabs across the top of the screen.
- Open the Companies/Markets function.
- Search for the company by name or ticker symbol.
- Open the company's "financial results" page.
- Review the balance sheet, then use the dropdown to open to "Key Ratios."
- Use the "Spreadsheet" link to export.
-
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
A wide range of news, political, legal, and business information from thousands of sources, mostly full text. Includes newspapers, magazines, wire services, federal and state court opinions, federal and state statutes, federal regulations, and SEC filings. News information is updated daily and wire services several times daily.
-
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowFrom advanced search, filter to company profile, market research report, or financial report. Results will be formatted as PDFs.
-
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Full-text global news sources, including newspapers, newswires, television and radio transcripts, numerous regional and industry publications, and images from Reuters, along with financial data including business ratios. Content comes from ~160 countries in 22 languages. Only 3 Oberlin users at one time.
-
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
A wide range of news, political, legal, and business information from thousands of sources, mostly full text. Includes newspapers, magazines, wire services, federal and state court opinions, federal and state statutes, federal regulations, and SEC filings. News information is updated daily and wire services several times daily.
-
SEC FilingsSecurities and Exchange Commission of the US: collects, validates, indexes and publishes submissions by companies who are required by law to file reports (all public companies, foreign complanies operation in the US)
Economics Indicators and Macro Data
Aligning readily available data to a research question is a key challenge for business research. Sometimes the most useful data, or the most useful format for data, is not available. This guide lists Oberlin's most common data sources but there are many more available - if you're not sure if the data you need is available, ask a librarian for assistance!
-
The Trader's Guide to Key Economic Indicators
by
Call Number: Main Library ; HC106.83 .Y35 2012ISBN: 9781118074008Publication Date: 2012-07-31Accessible description of key economic indicators relevant to investors, including how the indicators are gathered, published, and typically used.
-
FRED - Federal Reserve Economic DataDownload, graph and track economic time series data from multiple federal sources
-
Bureau of Economic AnalysisGovernment agency that collects and disseminates economic data and statistical tables, which can be accessed and downloaded from the website
-
Sage Data This link opens in a new windowLarge repository of harmonized datasets from a variety of sources, with global and time series coverage. Datasets allow complete access to datasets using customizable tables, graphs and maps, with numerous output formats available (Excel, PDF, delimited text, SAS, SPSS, XML, Shapefile GIS).
-
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Provides access to current and historical U.S. census and other demographic data. Users can create maps and reports.
Users must register for an account (free for current students, faculty, and staff with an active oberlin.edu email address) to access a full range of features.
Due diligence in looking at methods used to collect data is often necessary in international research projects, particularly comparative ones. Build a research habit of investigating the standards used to collect the data when drawing from disparate sources. As always, ask a librarian if you're not sure if the data you need is available.
-
The Trader's Guide to Key Economic Indicators
by
Call Number: Main Library ; HC106.83 .Y35 2012ISBN: 9781118074008Publication Date: 2012-07-31Accessible description of key economic indicators relevant to investors, including how the indicators are gathered, published, and typically used.
-
IMF eLibrary Data This link opens in a new window
Provides comprehensive access to International Financial Statistics (IFS), Balance of Payments Statistics (BOPS), Direction of Trade Statistics (DOTS), and Government Finance Statistics (GFS) databases. Uses can view and download predefined data reports or create custom reports of IMF data.
-
OECD DataEvidence-based and standardized datasets, indicators, and more collected and published by the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development.
-
Sage Data This link opens in a new windowLarge repository of harmonized datasets from a variety of sources, with global and time series coverage. Datasets allow complete access to datasets using customizable tables, graphs and maps, with numerous output formats available (Excel, PDF, delimited text, SAS, SPSS, XML, Shapefile GIS).
-
Europa World This link opens in a new window
Covers political, economic, and historical information, including statistics, for over 250 countries and territories.
Codes used to classify United States and North American business activities. The codes help organize both economic data produced by governments and interactions between businesses and the government. Many business research databases allow users to filter results for financial data or articles using the codes.
SIC (Standard Industrial Classification) is a U.S. government classification system widely used from 1937-1997 and not updated since 1987 that starts with 11 major divisions. It has been formally replaced by NAICS for many government functions, but still appears in some business databases as well as in historic government documents like SEC filings from the time period when it was in common use. Browse the SIC Manual to learn more about the subdivisions, or search for a code or keyword in SIC Search.
NAICS (North American Industry Classification System) was developed by the U.S. Office of Budget and Management in cooperation with Statistics Canada and Mexico's Instituto Nacional de Estadistica y Geografia to allow for comparison across borders. It has been widely used in North American since its adoption in 1997. Learn more and search for codes from NAICS Search.
To convert a SIC code to NAICS or vice versa, consult the NAICS to SIC concordances from the Census Bureau.