It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This companion volume to Jiang Yonglin's translation of The Great Ming Code (2005) analyzes the thought underlying the imperial legal code. Was the concept of the Mandate of Heaven merely a tool manipulated by the ruling elite to justify state power, or was it essential to their belief system and to the intellectual foundation of legal culture? What role did law play in the imperial effort to carry out the social reform programs? Jiang addresses these questions by examining the transformative role of the Code in educating the people about the Mandate of Heaven. The Code served as a cosmic instrument and moral textbook to ensure "all under Heaven" were aligned with the cosmic order. By promoting, regulating, and prohibiting categories of ritual behavior, the intent of the Code was to provide spiritual guidance to Chinese subjects, as well as to acquire political legitimacy. The Great Ming Code represented a powerful religious effort to educate the masses and transform society.
Volume 1 of Chinese History and Culture explores how the Dao was reformulated, expanded, defended, and preserved by Chinese intellectuals up to the seventeenth century, guiding them through history's darkest turns. Essays incorporate the evolving conception of the soul and the afterlife in pre- and post-Buddhist China, the significance of eating practices and social etiquette, the move toward greater individualism, the rise of the Neo-Daoist movement, the spread of Confucian ethics, and the growth of merchant culture and capitalism. A true panorama of Chinese culture's continuities and transition, Y#65533; Ying-shih's two-volume Chinese History and Culture gives readers of all backgrounds a unique education in the meaning of Chinese civilization.
The twelve case studies in Chinese Law: Knowledge, Practice and Transformation, 1530s to 1950s, edited by Li Chen and Madeleine Zelin, open a new window onto the historical foundation and transformation of Chinese law and legal culture in late imperial and modern China.
Authoritative guide to reliable peer-reviewed resources and scholarship in African Studies, Buddhism, Chinese Studies, Environmental Studies, Latin American Studies, Linguistics, Medieval Studies, and Political Science. Bibliographies are selectively curated and annotated by expert academics and offer high-level overviews that provide non-experts with a point of entry into unfamiliar areas of study.
a collection of books that supports emergency remote teaching, research activities, independent scholarship, and intellectual stimulation while universities, schools, training centers, and libraries are closed.
by Charles Muller, Professor from University of Tokyo
It provides some valuable resources related to Muller's own research in Chinese thoughts, and translation of some East Asian religious texts.
Berkshire Encyclopedia of China by Mary Bagg (Editor)
Publication Date: 2008-01-01
This encyclopedia is meant for any person - student, teacher, businessperson, government official, tourist - who seeks an understanding of China, in the past, present, and future.
Chinese History by Endymion Porter Wilkinson; Harvard University, Asia Center Staff (Contribution by)
Publication Date: 2015-09-07
Wilkinson's manual of Chinese history introduces students to different types of transmitted, excavated, and artefactual sources from prehistory to the twenty-first century. It also examines the context in which the sources were produced, preserved, and received, the problems of research and interpretation associated with them, and the best, most up-to-date secondary works.
Encyclopedia of Modern Asia
Publication Date: 2002-11-27
This encyclopedia is an overview of American law covering historical and modern terms, concepts, events, movements, cases and persons significant to US law. Entries range from brief definitions of legal jargon to examinations of courtroom procedure, from explanations of complex topics such as civil rights to biographies of standout attorneys, from analyses of controversial issues such as gun control to transcripts of crucial Supreme Court decisions.
A compilation of Buddhist terminologies, temples, schools, persons etc that are found in East Asian Buddhist canonical sources. Since much of what East Asian Buddhists have written about is the Buddhism of India, Central Asia, and Tibet, the content of this database/translation glossary is pan-Buddhist in character. Dictionaries and other reference sources are in many different Asian languages (Chinese, Japanese, Korean, Pali, Sanskrit and Tibetan).
Digital Archives of Cultural Heritage – by National Institute of Informatics, Japan
The site includes Digital archive of Toyo Bunko Rare books, Silk Road Maps, Stein Place name Database, Old Beijing Maps, Database of Ruins in Silk Road
The China Biographical Database is a freely accessible relational database with biographical information about approximately 422,600 individuals as of September 2018, primarily from the 7th through 19th centuries. With both online and offline versions, the data is meant to be useful for statistical, social network, and spatial analysis as well as serving as a kind of biographical reference. The image below shows the spatial distribution of a cross dynastic subset of 190,000 people in CBDB by basic affiliations (籍貫).