Skip to Main Content

Pioneer Academics

Using Summon

Summon

Summon provides access to millions of sources of all types (books, articles, audio, videos, images, etc.) on nearly any subject. It searches many different Oberlin College sources including the library catalog and some databases. 

Start searching using  keywords related to you research question and connecting them with Boolean operators.  Your Boolean operators must be in all caps (AND, OR, NOT).

Example:  Wind AND Electricity OR "power supply"

Once you retrieve your initial results, you can use the left hand column to further refine you search to Full Text Online, Scholarly & Peer Reviewed, and Items at Oberlin College.  You can then limit to one material type, Journal Article.  Now the sources you are reviewing and can link to will be limited to articles.

 

Journal Finder

Journal Finder

Journal Finder is a search tool that allows you to determine if the library provides online access to a significant amount of full text for a specific journal, newspaper, or magazine.  When you search the title of the journal the results provide you both dates of coverage and the names and links to the databases that contain the full text of that journal.

It is a useful tool whenever you encounter trouble accessing the full text of an article you may have found using Google, Summon or a library database.  Simply identify and input the Journal title (not the article title) in the Journal Finder search box.  Look at the dates of coverage to determine if Oberlin has online access to the article you need.  If it does click on the database link provided in your Journal Finder results and locate your article.