Song Texts
A French Song Companion by
The French Song Companion is the most comprehensive book of French melodie in any language. The great accompanist Graham Johnson, a noted authority of song, provides repertoire guides to the work of some 150 composers the majority of them from France, but including British, American,German, Spanish, and Italian musicians who have written French vocal music.
Call Number: Con Ref ML54.6.J76 F74 2000ISBN: 0198164106Publication Date: 2000
Italian Song Texts from the 18th Century by
This second volume of Italian song texts from the 18th century contains IPA Transliteration, Word-for-Word English Translation, and Idiomatic Translation by Martha Gerhart.
Call Number: Con Ref ML54.6 .I83 2007ISBN: 9781878617484Publication Date: 2007Masters of the French Art Song by A reference for singers, teachers and vocal and operatic coaches, this volume contains the complete song texts of the songs for voice and piano of Chausson, Debussy, Duparc, Faure and Ravel.
Call Number: Con Ref ML54.6 .M33 1991ISBN: 0810825228Publication Date: 1991
Masters of the Italian Art Song by
An invaluable reference text for singers, teachers, and vocal and operatic coaches, this volume contains the complete song texts of the songs for voice and piano of Bellini, Donaudy, Donizetti, Puccini, Rossini, Tosti, and Verdi, with word-by-word and poetic translations.
Call Number: Con Ref ML54.6 .M34 1990ISBN: 0810823632Publication Date: 1993
IPA Source
IPA Source contains international phonetic alphabet transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias and art song texts.
Diction
Singers' Italian by This book deals with Italian phonetics as used in lyric diction and considers the changes that occur between the manner in which a language is spoken and the way it is sung. These changes are due to the inherent differences between speech and song. Since it is written for the singer whose native language is English and who wishes to sing Italian, it is based on a constant comparison between Italian and English.
Call Number: Con Ref MT883 .C64ISBN: 0911320032Publication Date: 1970
Russian Songs and Arias by
A solid resource of Russian diction with clear and concise text, precise word-by-word translations and phonetic readings of Russian literature.
Call Number: Con Ref ML54.6.P56 1991ISBN: 1877761524Publication Date: 1991
Singer's Manual of German and French Diction by
Introduction. I. German Vowels. II. German Consonants. III. Alphabetical Review of German Phonetics. IV. French Consonants. V. French Vowels. VI. Alphabetical Review of French Phontics. Appendices. I. Reference list of common German prefixes and prepositions used as Prefixes. II. Sample transcriptions of German texts. III. Exercises in "adjacent" vowel sounds in French. IV. Sample transcriptions of French texts. Bibliography.
Call Number: Con Ref MT883 .C69ISBN: 0911320024Publication Date: 1995
Poetry References
German Poetry in Song by
This practical book inventories some 9,800 settings of German poetry, primarily for one voice and piano. Under the first line of each poet's work is a list of the composers who have set the poem to music, giving the composer's title for the song, date of composition or publication when available, opus number, and other significant data. Indexes by composer, first line, and title are also included.
Call Number: Con Ref ML128.S3 S66 1995ISBN: 0914913328Publication Date: 1995
Index to Poetry in Music by
Encompassing both the art song and Lieder traditions, this book includes: comprehensive lists of the compositions of 125 major western composers; the identities of the poets who wrote the lyrics; titles used by respective composers with cross-references from variant titles used by other composers; cross-references from the first lines; the publishers of the individual songs; and the location of individual songs within the collected works of individual composers and the date of composition.
Call Number: Con Ref ML128.S3 B69 2003ISBN: 0415943027Publication Date: 2003
Musical Settings of American Poetry by
A listing of about 2,400 poems by ninety-nine authors, identifying about 5,800 published musical settings. Separate indexes cover the roughly 2,100 composers involved and the titles both of the original poems and the musical settings.
Call Number: Con Ref ML128.V7H67 1986ISBN: 0313229384Publication Date: 1986
