Art of Cuba & Haiti

Original materials are housed in Special Collections in the Mary Church Terrell Main Library. A nationally known collection of around 2500 printed titles (many are multi-volume) most of which have been cataloged and can be searched in OBIS, the library catalog. .

Created from the renowned holdings of the Library Company of Philadelphia, Caribbean History and Culture, 1535-1920, is the largest and most significant collection of its kind. More than 1,200 fully cataloged and searchable books, pamphlets, almanacs, broadsides and ephemera cover the history of this broad region from the 16th century to the early 20th century.

Collects materials about Cuba and the Cuban diaspora from colonial times to the present including: rare books and journals, documents, correspondence, photographs, maps, scrapbooks, audio, video, and oral histories.

A collaborative international digitization project of 18 partner institutions from the Caribbean region to document their diverse historical & cultural legacies. Collections from academic libraries, private collections, & archives. "Collection groups" include map collections, newspaper collections, teaching guides, “Partner collections,” “Haitian Law,” “Panama & the Canal,” & “News.” Browsing: sorted categorically, including by format (maps, newspapers, books, photographs etc.) & thematic groups (culture, science & medicine, law, slavery & resistance, etc.). There are also several dozen featured special collections & exhibits. Searching is easy and intuitive; options are listed on home page. Searches can be limited by language, publisher, topic, geographic area, and genre.

The Haiti Lab merges research, education, and practical applications of innovative thinking for Haiti’s disaster recovery and for the expansion of Haitian studies in the U.S. and Haiti. Inspired by the collaborative, discovery-driven model of research laboratories, undergraduate and graduate students work with specialists in Haitian culture, history, and language on projects, drawing on expertise across disciplines and schools.

Primary source material from over 170 UNIA divisions and chapters in Caribbean countries. Includes a critical commentary on Haiti (as well as 22 other territories).

Collection of pamphlets, flyers, leaflets, brochures, posters, stickers, postcards, etc. created throughout the 20th and 21st c. Materials written by social activists, non-governmental organizations, government agencies, political parties, public policy think tanks, etc. to publicize their views, positions, agendas, policies, events, and activities.

Over 140 newspapers from 22 islands, chronicling the region’s history through eyewitness reporting, editorials, legislative information, letters, poetry, advertisements, obituaries and other news items. Most are written in English. Countries represented: Antigua, Bahamas, Barbados, Cuba, Curaçao, Dominica, Grenada, Guadaloupe, Haiti, Jamaica, Martinique, Montserrat, Nevis, Puerto Rico, St. Bartholomew, St. Christopher, St. Lucia, St. Vincent, Tobago, Trinidad, and the Virgin Islands. Newspapers from Bermuda are also included.

Collections across institutions are being digitized to increase access and preserve notable Caribbean newspapers. Titles are published in English, French, Haitian Creole, Dutch, Spanish and Papiarmento.

Texts from selected trials for religious crimes held in the Caribbean between the 1760s and the 1980s. Most of the trials relate to obeah, but some are for transgressions of the Trinidadian Shouters Prohibition Law, while others are for breaches of medical licensing laws and vagrancy laws.

A freely accessible, multimedia, digital library of rich primary materials about central Haitian and Haitian-American Vodou and spiritual traditions:
•. Audiovisual content available as sound, photographic or video footage that will be transcribed, translated, subtitled and explicated
•. Textual content available as facsimile, updated modernizations and translations
•. Critical syntheses such as commentary, exegesis, etymology, etc., available in English

An online library of songs, images, videos, and texts relating to the practice of Haitian Vodou. See esp. the "Courses" section.