Background & Context Sources
- Animal Diversity WebAnimal natural history, distribution, classification and conservation biology database, from Univ Michigan Museum of Zoology.
- Biodiversity Heritage LibraryImproves research methodology by collaboratively making biodiversity literature openly available to the world as part of a global biodiversity community.
- Birds of the WorldLife histories of birds worldwide. Accompanied by sounds, images, and video, and distributional maps and model output generated by eBird.
- Encyclopedia of LifeScientifically accurate information on living organisms, drawing on multiple sources for taxonomic and systematic data.
- Fuel Economy.govwww.fueleconomy.gov - the official government source for vehicle fuel economy information. Site administered by Oak Ridge National Laboratory for the U.S. Department of Energy and the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency.
- Global Soil Biodiversity InitiativeSeeking to promote expert knowledge on soil biodiversity in environmental policy and sustainable land management to protect and enhance ecosystem services, with contributions from over 100 scientists worldwide.
- Great Lakes Information NetworkA multimedia digital collection with information about the Great Lakes through St. Lawrence region of North America.
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Scholarly, government and general-interest titles that examine environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments. Multidisciplinary, drawing on agriculture, education, law, health and technology sources.
- Mammal Species of the WorldSmithsonian National Museum of Natural History hosts this database of mammalian taxonomy. Verify recognized scientific names and conduct taxonomic research.
- Repository for Oil and Gas Energy Research (ROGER database)A near-exhaustive collection of bibliographic information, abstracts, and links to journal articles that pertain to shale and tight gas development.
- Tree of LifeA collaborative web project that provides information about biodiversity as well as the characteristics and evolutionary history of different groups of organisms.
- Twineline: Ohio Sea Grant MagazineFocus on, but not limited to, Lake Erie. Research articles, education news, outreach opportunities, events.
- USGS EcosystemsEnvironmental information about the U.S.
- World Register of Marine Species (WoRMS)Provides an authoritative and comprehensive list of names of marine organisms, including taxa.
Dictionaries, Directories, and Biography
- Oxford Reference: Science and TechnologyDictionaries and Encylopedias on Science and Technology from Oxford University Press
Encyclopedias
- Climate Vulnerability: understanding and addressing threats to essential resourcesExtensive review articles covering the vulnerability of Human Health, Food Resources, Energy, Ecosystems, and Water Resources to Climate; world-wide.
- Encyclopedia of Aquatic EcotoxicologyEcological and toxicological effects of chemical pollutants on populations and ecosystems, and the fate of pollutants in the environment.
note: Oberlin College users only. - Encyclopedia of Environmental Ethics and PhilosophyExamines the ethical and philosophical issues underlying contemporary and historical environmental issues, policies, and debates. Covers concepts, intitutions, topics, events and people, including global warming, animal rights, environmental movements, alternative energy, green chemistry, industrial ecology, and eco-sabotage.
- Forest Encyclopedia NetworkProvides encyclopedias covering different fields of forest science.
Handbooks
- FishWatch: U.S. Seafood FactsEasy-to-understand science-based facts to help consumers make smart sustainable seafood choice, from the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA).
- Ohio Department of Natural Resources Division of WildlifeGuides for Ohio wildlife: mammals, birds, butterflies, dragonflies, stream fishes, amphibians, reptiles, owls, raptors, spiders, waterbirds, warblers and more.
- USDA Natural Resources Conservation ServiceSoil Biology Primer; an introduction to the living component of soil and how it contributes to agricultural productivity and air and water quality.