Data Sources
- Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry (ATSDR)A federal public health agency of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. Provides "toxicological profiles" for hundreds of toxic substances.
- Common ChemistryCAS Registry Number®, chemical names (both formal and common), molecular formulas, and structures or sequences for ~7900 chemicals of widespread general public interest.
- CRC Handbook of Chemistry and PhysicsCRCnetBase; latest edition of the Handbook of Chemistry and Physics. Includes structure and properties search. Access through OBIS.
- Fuel Economy.govwww.fueleconomy.gov - the official government source for vehicle fuel economy information. Site administered by Oak Ridge National Laboratory for the U.S. Department of Energy and the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency.
- Health & Environmental Research Online (HERO)The Health and Environmental Research Online database (HERO) includes more than three million scientific references and associated data from the peer-reviewed literature used by EPA to develop reports that support critical agency decision-making for chemical regulation.
- Index to Organism NamesScientific names of plants, animals, bacteria, viruses, and protozoa, as found in Zoological Record and BIOSIS Previews.
- Nucleic Acid DatabaseThree-dimensional structural information about nucleic acids. Rutgers Univ.
- Pesticide Properties DatabaseThe PPDB is a comprehensive relational database of pesticide chemical identity, physicochemical, human health and ecotoxicological data.
- Protein DataBankInformation about structures of proteins, nucleic acids, and complex assemblies.
- ScienceOpenScienceOpen is a discovery platform with interactive features for scholars to enhance their research in the open, make an impact, and receive credit for it.
- Taxonomic Name Resolution ServiceA free computer assisted utility for correcting and standardizing plant names, from iplantcollaborative.org, now knows as CyVerse.
Data Management, Data Sharing
- Data.govData, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, and design data visualizations. Includes data on climate, education, energy, health, science, and more.+
- DataCiteFind, access and reuse data.
- Data Management Plan Requirements - National Science FoundationRequirements for dissemination and sharing of research results when funded by the National Science Foundation.
- Data Repositories ListList of data repositories compiled by Case Western Reserve University of Technology.
- Dryad Digital Repository (Datadryad.org)A nonprofit repository for data underlying the international scientific and medical literature.
- Mendeley DataOpen-access research-data repository; free to users and free to submitters
- Public Data CommonsRepository for public data sets of scientific interest, hosted on the OSDC.
- Re3data.orgRegistry of Research data Repositories. "Over 1,000 listed research data repositories from all over the world making it the largest and most comprehensive online catalog of research data repositories on the web." Merged with databib.org
- ZoteroZotero is a free, easy-to-use tool to help you
collect, organize, annotate, cite, and share research.
Statistics for the Life Sciences
Statistics for the Life Sciences by ISBN: 9780321989581Publication Date: 2016The Fifth Edition of Statistics for the Life Sciences uses authentic examples and exercises from a wide variety of life science domains to give statistical concepts personal relevance, enabling students to connect concepts with situations they will encounter outside the classroom.
