Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Best Journal Article Database
Web of Science, a multi-discipline resource, includes these databases in one comprehensive search: MEDLINE, BIOSIS, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index and Social Sciences Citation Index, among others. Other MEDLINE options: EbscoHost, PubMed, SciFinder.
What Are Scholarly Articles?
Scholarly articles are published in journals intended for audiences in specific academic disciplines.
Many, but not all, scholarly journals are peer-reviewed.
Prior to publication, peer-reviewed articles are submitted to experts in the field who offer feedback to the author. Because the reviewers specialize in the same scholarly area as the author, they are considered the author’s peers (hence “peer review”).
Not all content in a scholarly journal is peer-reviewed. Other content may include letters and opinion pieces, editorial essays, and reviews of books or other resources.
Other Important Databases
Use the Libraries Databases A-Z Guide to find subject-specific databases, as well as those that focus on particular source types, including data, statistics, and news.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary - good for nearly all subjects. Scholarly and trade journals, popular magazines, newspapers, conference proceedings, book reviews, and more.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal archive for the humanities, social sciences and natural sciences; current issues (usually the last 2-5 years) are not digitized by JSTOR and may be obtained elsewhere.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source provides full text for hundreds of national, regional (U.S.), and international newspapers, as well as full-text television, radio, and news transcripts.
New York Times (1851-2018) This link opens in a new window
Search by keywords or browse images of full pages by date.
PAIS Index (Public Affairs Information Service) This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of U.S. public policy and international affairs. Includes references to journal articles, books, government documents, grey literature, research reports and documents by NGOs, conference papers, and statistical reports. Dates of Coverage: 1915 to date
Summon This link opens in a new window
Searches more than 300 million items - books, scholarly articles, newspaper articles, data, digital audio, digital video, digital images, government documents and more. It draws from the library catalog (OBIS), many of the full text and article indexing databases, as well as digital repositories from colleges, universities, research centers, and other open-access archives on the web.