Music Citation Guide: Chicago Style (18th ed.)

Bibliography Entry:

LastName, FirstName. Title. Publisher, Year.

Jenkins, Chris. Assimilation v. Integration in Music Education: Leading Change Toward Greater Equity. Routledge, 2024.

Footnote/Endnote:

#. FirstName LastName, Title (Publisher, Year), PageNumber.

1. Chris Jenkins, Assimilation v. Integration in Music Education: Leading Change Toward Greater Equity (Routledge, 2024), 100.

In-text citation:

(LastName Year, PageNumber)

(Jenkins 2024, 100)

Bibliography Entry:

LastName, FirstName. Title. Translated/Edited by FirstName LastName. Publisher, Year.

Chion, Michel. Audio-Vision: Sound on Screen. Translated by Claudia Gorbman. Columbia University Press, 2019.

Footnote/Endnote:

#. FirstName Last Name, Title, trans./ed. FirstName LastName (Publisher, Year), PageNumber.

1. Michel Chion, Audio-Vision: Sound on Screen, trans. Claudia Gorbman (Columbia University Press, 2019), 100.

In-text citation:

(LastName Year, PageNumber)

(Chion 2019, 100)

Bibliography Entry:

LastName, FirstName, and FirstName LastName. Title. Publisher, Year.

Griffin, Shelley M., and Nasim Niknafs, eds. Traumas Resisted And (Re)Engaged: Inquiring into Lost and Found Narratives in Music Education. Springer, 2023.

Footnote/Endnote:

#. FirstName LastName and FirstName LastName, Title (Publisher, Year), PageNumber.

1. Shelley M. Griffin and Nasim Niknafs, eds.,Traumas Resisted And (Re)Engaged: Inquiring into Lost and Found Narratives in Music Education (Springer, 2023), 100.

In-text citation:

(LastName and LastName Year, PageNumber)

(Griffin and Niknafs 2023, 100)

Bibliography Entry:

LastName, FirstName. "Chapter Title." In Title, edited by FirstName LastName. Publisher, Year.

Raykoff, Ivan. "The Camp Sincerity of Christmas Carols." In Music & Camp, edited by Christopher Moore and Philip Purvis. Wesleyan University Press, 2018.

Footnote/Endnote:

#. FirstName LastName, "Chapter Title," in Title, ed. FirstName LastName (Publisher, Year), PageNumber.

1. Ivan Raykoff, "The Camp Sincerity of Christmas Carols," in Music & Camp, ed. Christopher Moore and Philip Purvis (Wesleyan University Press, 2018), 100.

In-text citation:

(LastName Year, PageNumber)

(Raykoff 2018, 100).

Note that it's uncommon to list just one chapter from a single-authored book in a bibliography. Typically, writers will cite the entire book in the bibliography, even if it a footnote cites a specific chapter.

Bibliography Entry:

LastName, FirstName. "Chapter Title." In Title. Publisher, Year.

Ege, Samantha. "Seizing the World Stage." In South Side Impresarios: How Race Women Transformed Chicago's Classical Music Scene. University of Illinois Press, 2024.

Footnote/Endnote:

#. FirstName LastName, "Chapter Title," in Title (Publisher, Year), PageNumber.

1. Samantha Ege, "Seizing the World Stage," in South Side Impresarios: How Race Women Transformed Chicago's Classical Music Scene (University of Illinois Press, 2024), 100.

In-text citation:

(LastName Year, PageNumber)

(Ege 2024, 100)

From CMOS:

To cite a book consulted online, include either a URL or the name of the database. For downloadable ebook formats, name the format; if no fixed page numbers are available, cite a section title or a chapter or other number in the note (or simply omit).

Bibliography Entry:

LastName, FirstName. Title. Publisher, Year. Database/Link/Format.

Burns, Chelsea. The Exotic Self: Mexican and Brazilian Modernists Abroad and at Home. Oxford University Press, 2025. https://doi.org/10.1093/9780197792896.001.0001. 

Footnote/Endnote:

#. FirstName LastName, Title (Publisher, Year), PageNumber/ChapterNumber, Database/Link/Format.

1. Chelsea Burns, The Exotic Self: Mexican and Brazilian Modernists Abroad and at Home (Oxford University Press, 2025), chap. 6, https://doi.org/10.1093/9780197792896.001.0001. 

In-text citation:

(LastName Year, PageNumber/ChapterNumber)

(Burns 2025, chap. 6)