Music Citation Guide: Chicago Style (18th ed.)

Note: You'll find many different suggestions on how to cite Grove - even the Grove automatic citation generator says something different than this guide! This style is taken from CMOS 14.132: Citing individual reference entries by author because Grove entries are all signed and dated, even if the entry is a little short.

Bibliography Entry:

LastName, FirstName. "ArticleTitle." In Grove Music Online, edited by Deane Root. Oxford University Press, Year. https://oxfordmusiconline.com. 

Bridges, Thomas W. "Casulana [Mezari], Maddalena." In Grove Music Online, edited by Deane Root. Oxford University Press, 2001. https://oxfordmusiconline.com. 

Footnote/Endnote:

#. FirstName LastName, "ArticleTitle," in Grove Music Online, ed. Deane Root (Oxford University Press, Year), https://oxfordmusiconline.com. 

1. Thomas W. Bridges, "Casulana [Mezari], Maddalena," in Grove Music Online, ed. Deane Root (Oxford University Press, 2001), https://oxfordmusiconline.com. 

In-text citation:

(LastName Year)

(Bridges 2001)

Deane Root is the editor of Grove.

Bibliography Entry:

EncyclopediaName. "ArticleTitle." PublicationDate. Link.

Encyclopedia Britannica. "race records." September 30, 2020. https://www.britannica.com/art/race-record.

Footnote/Endnote:

#. EncyclopediaName, "ArticleTitle," PublicationDate, Link.

1. Encyclopedia Britannica, "race records," September 30, 2020, https://www.britannica.com/art/race-record.

In-text citation:

(EncylopediaName Year)

(Encyclopedia Britannica 2020)

Unsigned reference entries from well-known encyclopedias, dictionaries, etc. are not typically included in the bibliography. Check with your professor to see what they would prefer. 

You should also include edition information (if it's not the first edition) in these citations (CMOS 14.130).

Bibliography Entry:

EncyclopediaName. Vol. #, VolumeName. Under "ArticleTitle." Publisher, Year.

Continuum Encyclopedia of Popular Music of the World. Vol. 7, Europe. Under "Hungary." Continuum, 2005.

Footnote/Endnote:

#. EncyclopediaName, vol. #, VolumeName (Publisher, Year), under "ArticleTitle."

1. Continuum Encyclopedia of Popular Music of the World, vol. 7, Europe (Continuum, 2005), under "Hungary."

In-text citation:

(EncyclopediaName Year)

(Continuum Encyclopedia of Popular Music of the World 2005)