Books and Ebooks
Navigate to Search.Libraries to look through the library catalog, OhioLINK items, and more!
Physical items in libraries are organized by their call number. Most of the Conservatory Library's items use Library of Congress call numbers. Here's a bit about what to look for.
Call Numbers Starting with ML
If a call number starts with ML, it is a book about music. Here are some general guidelines:
- ML48, 50: librettos
- ML93: manuscripts, autographs, facsimiles
- ML96.5: facsimiles of composers' works
- ML100: dictionaries, encyclopedias
- ML111: bibliography
- ML410: biographies of composers
Call Numbers Starting with MT
If a call number starts with MT, it is a book about music theory or instruction/pedagogy. Here are some general guidelines:
- MT2: history and criticism of theory
- MT6-MT950: instruction and study
- MT40: composition
- MT170: instrumental techniques
- MT820: singing and voice culture
Here are some subject headings to use in Search.Libraries:
General Musicology Subject Headings
- Music -- Psychological aspects
- Music -- Social aspects
- Music -- Philosophy and aesthetics
Music Education
- Music - Methods
- Music in education
- Music appreciation
- Music -- Instruction and study
Scholarly Articles
Search encyclopedias for entries which can be helpful for general understanding, keywords, and mining the reference sections.
-
The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music
by
Call Number: Con Ref ML100 .G16 1997 v.1-10ISBN: 0824060350Publication Date: 1997Explores key themes in African music that have emerged in recent years-a subject usually neglected in country-by-country coverage. Emphasizes the contexts of musical performance-unlike studies that offer static interpretations isolated from other performing traditions. It presents the fresh insights and analyses of musicologists and anthropologists of diverse national origins-African, Asian, European, and American.
-
Grove Music Online This link opens in a new windowOnline music encyclopedia, offering comprehensive coverage of music, musicians, music-making, and music scholarship.
The following are some best bets for databases to use when starting music research. For a full list of databases at Oberlin, check out our Databases A-Z.
-
Music Index Online This link opens in a new windowMusic Index Online covers topics concerned with every aspect of the classical and popular world of music. Dates of coverage: 1979-present.
-
RILM Full Text This link opens in a new windowComprehensive music bibliography providing international coverage of music literature. Dates of coverage: 1775 to the present.
Magazines and Newspapers
The following are some best bets for historical newspaper databases to consult when starting music research. For a full list of journals, magazines, and newspapers at Oberlin, check out our Journals A-Z.
-
RIPM Jazz Periodicals This link opens in a new windowRIPM Jazz Periodicals is a collection of 105 American full-text jazz journals and magazines published. Developed in collaboration with the Institute of Jazz Studies at Rutgers University and partner libraries, RIPM Jazz Periodicals is an essential documentary resource that chronicles American jazz culture as seen through the eyes of its contemporaries. (Dates of coverage: 1914-2000)
-
RIPM – With Full Text This link opens in a new windowCitations to articles in scholarly and popular music periodicals. Contains more than 500,000 entries. Dates of Coverage: 1800 and 1950
The following are some best bets for historical newspaper databases to consult when starting music research. For a full list of journals, magazines, and newspapers at Oberlin, check out our Journals A-Z.
-
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
A wide range of news, political, legal, and business information from thousands of sources, mostly full text. Includes newspapers, magazines, wire services, federal and state court opinions, federal and state statutes, federal regulations, and SEC filings. News information is updated daily and wire services several times daily.
-
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source provides full text for hundreds of national, regional (U.S.), and international newspapers, as well as full-text television, radio, and news transcripts.
The following are some best bets for magazine databases to consult when starting music research. For a full list of journals, magazines, and newspapers at Oberlin, check out our Journals A-Z.
-
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive: Music This link opens in a new windowA series of digital collections focused on 20th and 21st century music genres such as Rock, Folk, Hip-Hop, and Rap. This collection contains 1,461 issues comprising 100,696 pages and 91,441 articles. Note: Oberlin only has access to Music Magazine Archive through this platform, not the full Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive.