Newspaper and Magazine Articles
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic, minority, and native press in America. Dates of Coverage: 1959 to date
- Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source provides full text for hundreds of national, regional (U.S.), and international newspapers, as well as full-text television, radio, and news transcripts.
- NewspaperARCHIVE (Ohio) This link opens in a new windowScanned newspapers from small- and medium-sized towns in Ohio.
- Summon This link opens in a new windowSearches more than 300 million items - books, scholarly articles, newspaper articles, data, digital audio, digital video, digital images, government documents and more. It draws from the library catalog (OBIS), many of the full text and article indexing databases, as well as digital repositories from colleges, universities, research centers, and other open-access archives on the web.
Institutional access to the NYTimes.com is provided to all current Oberlin College students, faculty, and staff.
If you are new to campus or have not previously registered for Oberlin's institutional NYTimes access:
- While on campus and connected to the Oberlin’s network or while using the VPN, visit accessnyt.com.
- Create an account (claim a Pass) using your @oberlin.edu email address.
- You have successfully claimed a Pass when you see the Start Your Access screen.
Once registered you’ll be able to access NYTimes.com by logging into your account from any computer/tablet/device you use.
Students: When you register, you will be asked for your date of graduation from Oberlin. Your status will stay active through that date, with no need to reactivate/re-authenticate.
All current Oberlin students, faculty, and staff have access to the Wall Street Journal website and Wall Street Journal apps, which include the content from the last four years.
You must register for an account using your Oberlin email using the link below:
Scholarly Journal Articles
Starting Points
- SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new windowProvides full text of some journal articles, and indexing and abstracts for journals, books and conference papers. Covers all sub-fields of sociology, including criminology, gender, marriage & family studies, social work, social psychology, addictions, violence, and more. Covers scholarly publications in sociology, social work, and related fields. Contains 2.3 million articles and other materials (64% in full text) with deep coverage from 1960 and some back to 1882.
- Criminal Justice Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles in the areas of criminology, corrections, prisons, substance abuse and addictions, criminal law, policing, criminal investigation, probation, and parole.
Using the subject terms in SocINDEX and Criminal Justice Abstracts can save you time. Use them as keywords for a revised search or click on them to retrieve all the articles with that tag. Add additional terms to that search to refine your results. For example, the article below has four terms that you could use--some broad, some narrow.
| Article Title | American Jails: Health Care, Custody, and Control |
| Author | Meyer, Fred |
| Document Type | Article |
| Subject Terms |
|
| *See this article in Criminal Justice Abstracts |
Legal
- Hein Online - Law and Government This link opens in a new windowLegal periodicals, case law, foreign and international law, documents and treaties, U.S. federal government information.
- ProQuest Congressional Publications This link opens in a new windowInformation about and by U.S. Congress, including hearings, reports, documents, legislative histories, and the Congressional Record.
Multidisciplinary
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowScholarly journal archive for the humanities, social sciences and natural sciences; current issues (usually the last 2-5 years) are not digitized by JSTOR and may be obtained elsewhere.
- Black Studies Center This link opens in a new window
Covers the Black experience from ancient Africa to the modern day from perspectives in history, literature, political science, sociology, philosophy, music, visual arts, and religion. Includes index to Black Literature (1827-1940), Black Studies Periodical Database, and the full text backfile (1910-2010) of the influential black newspaper The Chicago Defender.
- LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
Includes the full text of more than one hundred current or historically significant Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender (LGBT) journals, magazines and regional newspapers, and books.
- Google ScholarSearch across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, and universities. Particularly useful for finding out who has cited the documents you’ve already identified!
If you use Google Scholar while off-campus, you can avoid hitting publisher paywalls by adding Oberlin to your library links list.
- Click the three-line menu.
- Go to settings > library links
- Type in Oberlin College. Mark all the options.
Get Research Help
Interlibrary Loan
Can't find what you need at Oberlin? For books, try OhioLINK. For books not available through OhioLINK and for other types of materials, use Interlibrary Loan (ILL).
ILL lets you borrow materials from non-OhioLINK libraries, including print books, scanned journal articles, musical scores, videos, theses/dissertations, and more.