Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Art - Modern (N. America & W. Europe)

Search newspapers and other regional publications for artists who have little written about them elsewhere.

U.S. News sources

African American Newspapers (1827-1998) 
Provides online access to hundreds of historical U.S. newspapers chronicling the African American experience. Dates of Coverage: 1827-1998

Ethnic NewsWatch 
Full-text coverage of newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press in America. Dates of Coverage:  1959 to date

Hispanic American Newspapers (1808-1980) 
Searchable full text scans of Spanish, English and bilingual newspapers published in Hispanic communities in the United States.

Historical Newspapers Online 
Gateway to hundreds of open access historical US newspaper collections on the web, organized by state; maintained by University of Pennsylvania Libraries.  Dates of Coverage: 17th c. to date

NewspaperARCHIVE 
Scanned newspapers from small- and medium-sized towns across the US with some international coverage. Dates of Coverage: 1600 to date

Newspaper Source 
Newspaper Source provides full text for hundreds of national, regional (U.S.), and international newspapers, as well as full-text television, radio, and news transcripts. Dates of Coverage: 1985 to date
 

Nexis Uni
A wide range of news, political, legal, and business information from thousands of sources, mostly full text. Includes newspapers, magazines, wire services, federal and state court opinions, federal and state statutes, federal regulations, and SEC filings. News information is updated daily and wire services several times daily.

Historical American Newspapers

19th Century U.S. Newspapers 
Full text searchable articles representing most US states. Includes searchable page scans of the originals. Dates of Coverage: 1800-1899  

America's Historical Newspapers (1690-1876) 
Cover-to-cover reproductions of hundreds of historic newspapers, providing more than one million pages as full text searchable scanned page images.

Chronicling America: Historical American Newspapers 
A collection of freely accessible historical American newspapers from all regions of the United States, developed by the Library of Congress.  Dates of coverage: 1836-1922

Also of use

Cleveland artists

World news sources

Some also cover US news

Factiva 
Full-text global news sources, including newspapers, newswires, television and radio transcripts, numerous regional and industry publications, and images from Reuters. Content comes from ~160 countries in 22 languages.   Only 3 Oberlin users at one time.

Current Digest of the Chinese Press (2011 to date) 
Selections from Chinese newspapers translated into English; subject coverge includes Chinese politics and culture, international relations and security, and business and the economy.

Current Digest of the Russian Press (1949- ) 
A selection of Russian Language press materials translated into English.Current Digest of the Soviet Press and Current Digest of the Post-Soviet Press are included in the Archive. Dates of Coverage: 1949-current

LexisNexis 
A wide range of news, political, legal, and business information from thousands of sources, mostly full text. Includes newspapers, magazines, wire services, federal and state court opinions, federal and state statutes, federal regulations, and SEC filings. News information is updated daily and wire services several times daily.  


Eastview Universal Databases 
Full-text of Russian newspapers and English-language sources Current Digest of the Chinese Press and Current Digest of the Russian Press.

World News Connection (1995 - 2013) 
Translations and transcripts of news stories from non-U.S. media sources including newspaper articles, conference proceedings, television and radio broadcasts, periodicals, and non-classified technical reports.  Coverage focuses on socioeconomic, political, scientific, technical, and environmental issues and events. Dates of Coverage: 1995 - 2013