Modern Art (N. America & W. Europe): Museums and Image Sourcess

Encyclopedic collections cover art worldwide. Particular strengths for modern art are Impressionism and post-impressionism, Modernism, Surrealism, Pop Art and Art Deco.

Among the museum's special strengths: Asian art, Latin American art (ranging from pre-Columbian masterpieces to works by leading modern and contemporary artists including Diego Rivera, Frida Kahlo,, and José Clemente Orozco), and Islamic art, of which LACMA hosts one of the most significant collections in the world.

Founded in 1977, The Mattress Factory supports artists working in residence to create site-specific installations. Since then, the museum has presented and commissioned new installation and performance works by more than 750 artists using site-specific installations, video, and performance art. A national and international leader in site-specific, contemporary art it is notorious for pushing the boundaries of both artist and viewer.

Together with MoMA PS1, this is one of the most comprehensive and panoramic collections of modern art, with approximately 200,000 paintings, sculptures, drawings, prints, photographs, media and performance art works, architectural models and drawings, design objects, and films as well as approximately two million film stills.

Tate Online lists 65,000 works from the four Tate Galleries (Tate Britain, Tate Modern, Tate St. Ives and Tate Liverpool) which cover international modern and contemporary art from 1900 to the present and British art from 1500. Each work has a brief discussion, an image which can be enlarged, and subject headings that link to similar works. Art may be searched by artist, subject, date and object type.

Created by the Whitney Museum, this portal to digital art has been around for some time, but is still worth another look. The portal includes current "gate pages", that point to the work of selected artists and change monthly, along with an archive of gate pages dating back to 2001. The resources section lists galleries, networks and museums on the Web, publications, and new media festivals, while the collection area showcases digital art owned by the Whitney Museum. Altogether, ARTPORT provides a great jumping off place to the far-flung and ephemeral world of Web art.

High quality images of the fine arts (painting, sculpture, printmaking, and drawing), photography, architecture and new media including Film, Audio, Video, Performance Art and Digital Art

The "most comprehensive slide archive of contemporary visual art by artists of African and Asian descent working in the UK since the post-war period." "The archive houses over 6,000 slides of artworks and exhibitions, as well as publications and videos about and by artists. There are over 200 individual artist folders, as well as curators, art historians, cultural critics and arts organization files.

20th and 21st century art. China, Taiwan and Macao. Lists exhibition catalogues, monographs, books, periodicals, leaflets, invitations, clippings, DVDS, CD-ROMS and videos. One of the most comprehensive catalogs of modern & contemporary art