Overviews / Encyclopedias
Art Since 1900 by ISBN: 9780500292716Introduces key theoretical approaches to modern and contemporary art. Although the 2016 edition cannot be checked out earlier editions may be borrowed.
- Dictionary of Twentieth-Century Art
Covers the painting, sculpture, and graphic art of all the major movements and styles of the twentieth-century. The context is covered as well, such as schools, galleries, exhibitions as well as the art market (collectors, critics, dealers and patrons) and techniques. - Grove Art Online
Most comprehensive art encyclopedia available in English; useful for scholarly overviews and excellent bibliographies. - Routledge encyclopedia of modernism
Interdisciplinary review of the Modernist period covering Literature, Architecture, Visual Arts, Music, Dance, Theatre, Film, and Intellectual Currents.
Styles, Schools and Movements by ISBN: 9780500288443Publication Date: 2011Art in the modern era is defined by its styles, schools, and movements.
Essays, in rough chronological order, cover the late 19thc to the 21st, introducing the major developments in Western painting, sculpture, architecture, and design. A foldout timeline corresponds art with historical events. One hundred of the 300 essays include major international collections and suggestions for further reading. The 1,000+ artists, architects, designers, impresarios, critics, collectors, and champions of modern art mentioned in the essays are indexed.
Fact Checking
- Union List of Artists' Names (ULAN)
For alternate names and spellings - Thesaurus of Geographic Names (TGN)
For place names and their variants. - Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History. Metropolitan Museum of Art, NY
A chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of the history of art illustrated by the Metropolitan Museum of Art's collection. Global coverage from prehistory to modern. Authored by the Met's curatorial, conservation and education staff.
Specialized encyclopedias
There are many specialized encyclopedias and dictionaries covering specific aspects of modern art. Some are stand-alone publications while others are briefer and found in monographs or catalogs. Use the following search strategy to quickly check for any related to your topic: [your keyword] and (encyclopedia* or dictionar*).
For example: keyword = surrealis* and (encyclopedia* or dictionar*)
Generate additional keywords by browsing Related Subjects under subject headings like Art Modern 20th century. Subjects headings are controlled vocabulary and used consistently throughout many databases including OBIS. Once identified they can be recombined for customized results.
OBIS Subjects
Broad subject headings
Art, Modern
Modernism (Art)
Art, Modern -- 20th century [or 21st century]
Specific movements, styles, genre:
Dadaism
Impressionism (Art)
Neo-impressionism (Art)
Postmodernism
Additional subjects for 49 movements, styles and concepts related to modern art
Librarian / Research Help
|
Barb Prior (she/her) Head, Clarence Ward Art Library Supports classes across the College and Conservatory and those using the Allen Memorial Art Museum Subject expert for: |
|
