Northern Renaissance Art
Art of this period is described a variety of ways: Northern European Renaissance, Early Netherlandish, Flemish Primitives, to name a few. The geographic area can also vary, and is complicated by the fact that national boundaries, and identities, do not always align with those of today. Generally Northern European Renaissance refers to art created in the 16th century (1500s) in Russia and all northern European countries as far south as Romania, Hungary and Austria. Excluded countries include France, Italy, Portugal, Spain as well as the nations bordering the Baltic Sea.
Encyclopedias
The Grove Encyclopedia of Northern Renaissance Art by Call Number: Art Reference N 6370 .G76 2009 vol. 1-3ISBN: 9780195334661Publication Date: 2009Northern European art from the late 12th - 16th c.
- Grove Art Online
Most comprehensive art encyclopedia available in English; useful for scholarly overviews and excellent bibliographies.
Databases
- Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) (1975-2007) This link opens in a new window
Index to 1,200+ North American and European Journals covering Western Art from ca. 300 CE to present.
- Getty research portal This link opens in a new windowA multidisciplinary, multilingual catalog of fundamental texts, rare books, exhibition catalogs, auction catalogs and related documents digitized by libraries and museums worldwide. Texts may be downloaded and are digitized in their entirety.
- International Bibliography of Art (2008 to date) This link opens in a new window
Indexes 500 journals covering European art since antiquity, American art sincle the colonial period, and Global art since 1945. Preceded by OpenBibArt.
- Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance This link opens in a new windowIndexes academic journals covering the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700) primarily in Europe. Dates of Coverage: 1859 to date
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowScholarly journal archive for the humanities, social sciences and natural sciences; current issues (usually the last 2-5 years) are not digitized by JSTOR and may be obtained elsewhere.
- Kubikat This link opens in a new window
Kubikat is the collective catalogue of four of the leading German scholarly art history research institutes located in Florence, Munich, Rome and Paris. Kubikat includes both article and book citations.
- RKD Research, The Netherlands Institute for Art History
In Dutch and English. One of the world's largest art institutions, RKD has digitized large portions of the art and research collections. Particularly strong in Northern European art, they cover art worldwide. Their seven databases can be searched separately or simultaneously.
RKDartists (260,000 artists worldwide),
RKDimages (270,000 verified artworks),
RKDimages Lite (4,225 000 artworks in process),
RKDlibrary (330,000 Library records).
(The following databases were unavailable or had limited content as of April 2024:RKDtechnical, RKDcollections [archives], and RKDexcerpts.)