Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What is a Scholarly Article?
Both scholarly and peer-reviewed articles are written by experts in academic or professional fields. Scholarly articles are published in journals for specific academic disciplines. Many scholarly journals are also peer-reviewed.
Peer-reviewed articles are submitted to reviewers who are experts in the field. Because the reviewers specialize in the same scholarly area as the author, they are considered the author’s peers (hence “peer review”).
Both scholarly and peer-reviewed articles are excellent places to find what has been studied or researched on a topic, as well as find references to additional relevant sources of information.
Journal Database - English language
Bibliography of Asian Studies (1971 to date)
Indexes English language articles on all aspects of East, Southeast, and South Asian culture.
Academic Search Complete
Multidisciplinary - good for nearly all subjects. Scholarly and trade journals, popular magazines, newspapers, conference proceedings, book reviews, and more.
Scholarly journal archive for the humanities, social sciences and natural sciences; current issues (usually the last 2-5 years) are not digitized by JSTOR and may be obtained elsewhere.
Web of Science
Scholarly literature in the sciences, health and medicine, social sciences, arts, and humanities and proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions. Includes cited reference searching across many databases. Search all databases in Web of Science
(includes Medline and BIOSIS, direct link for on-campus users). Dates of coverage: 1965 to present.
Open Access Journals
Joint-published by Freer|Sackler publishes, with the University of Michigan, this journal has the latest research in art of the Middle East and Asia.
The Silk Road
Published by the Silk Road Foundation annually. It is freely accessible at: where one can download individual articles or the entire volume by going directly to.
Journal of Confucian Philosophy and Culture
English language journal published in Korea.
Asian Archaeology is an academic English-language journal that publishes original studies based on field archaeological data as well as new theoretical and methodological analyses and synthetic overviews of topics in the field of Asian archaeology.
Journal Database - CJK language
Is a full-text database that provides coverage of a wide range of predominantly Chinese-language journals from both China mainland and Taiwan. It supports information and research needs related to the dynamic Greater China region. Content is indexed in both Chinese and English.
日本の論文をさがす - 国立情報学研究所
Japanese scholarly journal index
Content-based database searching partial full text Chinese books, articles, thesis, newspapers etc. Some with full text, some only index.
National Social Sciences Database
CASS over 800+ Chinese language journal titles in full text search and download.
Nikkei Telecom 21
Sources include Nikkei newspapers and magazines, Asahi, Yomiuri, Mainichi and Sankei.
Extensive Corporate Profiles, People Search and English sources also available.
Update frequency: Daily. 10,000 added daily.
Access for this resource is limited. Please contact Runxiao Zhu (firstname.lastname@example.org) for log in information.
Zasshi kiji sakuin shusei detabesu
Complete database for Japanese magazines and periodicals from the Meiji era to the present. Index to periodical articles published in Japanese, including those in former Japanese colonies, and local periodicals not present in many other indexes. Coverage is from 1868 onwards.
JAIRO - Japanese Institutional Repositories Online
Japanese Institutional Repositories Online, is an index of over 1 million journal articles, dissertations, departmental bulletins, etc, with links to the full text of more than three-quarters of them.
More CJK language resources
East Asian Studies Database
For full list of CJK resources, please also refer to their individual subject guide for details or contact the East Asian Studies librarian for further assistance.