Con Library Technical Services: Traced collections

Overview

Cataloging and tracing of chamber music gifted by the Annapolis Brass Quintet. Items are housed both in the general, circulation collection and in Kohl noncirculating. Determining factors are presence of handwritten parts/extensive annotations and condition. Con special collections librarian makes determination. History of the gift, on Special Collections website.

Tracing, local donor

n 790 Annapolis Brass Quintet Collection.|4dnr

Tracing, local note

Note patterns:

590  Oberlin Conservatory Library copy: From the gift of the Annapolis Brass Quintet (ABQ ###)

590  Oberlin Conservatory Library copy 1 and 3: From the gift of the Annapolis Brass Quintet (ABQ 412); copy 3 missing trumpet part upon receipt

Tracing, public page

OBIS limit scores, sort reverse chrono (Why just keyword?)

KW: From the gift of the Annapolis Brass Quintet = 1151, “very relevant” 1144

Archival copies

Kohl items requested for use may be photocopied; see Prep Manual for detailed instructions. These may be identified by a note in the item record:

ARCHIVAL COPY PROCESSED, [initials date]

When returned, copy is housed with original in Kohl (not in circulating collection).

Cleanup project February-March, 2022

Unclear which were located in Kohl-all were listed as item location cs (Con Scores); Kohl items had an item status of “p” (request item) but otherwise differentiated from circulating collection. Goal: All Kohl items should appear in OBIS as being in Kohl-library use only; all circulating copies should appear in OBIS as con-score and available

• Record list: Item record review file based on 710 tracing; export.
• Preliminary cleanup: Review 590 notes to identify those with multiple copies/volumes, particularly those potentially in different location, and confirm location and make any needed clarifications (~100 records). Review item status for lost, missing, transit and check upstairs and Kohl vault twice. Clean up any noticeable cataloging errors. Clean up various misspellings of Annapolis in 710.
• Record updates: Global update “request item” to status i (library use only) icode2=6 (noncirculating) item location csck (Con Special Kohl) and either replace bib location cons with conss (if only item is in Kohl) or add additional bib location of conss (if general and Kohl copy). Approximately 600 records edited.

Blues collection. Inventories and info, Neavill Collection (Box)

51 feet LPs (3900 on spreadsheet. (additional Google version: Neavill Blues Collection: LP Inventory). Not in OBIS. Spreadsheet has barcodes, which are affixed to LPs. OBIS: Do not hand-add to OBIS, might be able to batch import brief bibs and items. Plan: Kohl, separate accession sequence

2430 CDs + 30 CD box sets. Not in BIS. Inventory/possibly very brief on “from vince” sheet together with titles that have since been cataloged. Plan: general collection, regular CD accession sequence, 590 tracing. OBIS: If these are really on a spreadsheet, do not  hand-add to OBIS, might be able to batch import brief bibs and items

19 DVD

2 VHS

Cataloged or brief bib CDs (regular collection) - 1,996. Tracing:

590  Oberlin Conservatory Library copy: Gordon B. Neavill and Mary Ann Sheble Blues Collection

800 LPs - spreadsheet inventory, WilliamEAnderson_LPsJazz_Inventory.xlsx (Box). Not in OBIS. Plan: Kohl, accessioning sequence TBD. OBIS: Do not hand-add to OBIS, might be able to batch import brief bibs and items.

1400 noncommercial CDs (concert recordings). Not in OBIS. Spreadsheet inventory, GONE?????, lists rows by performance. Accessioned in sequence CSC-WACD-####. Last number in sequence is 1371. Plan: Kohl, WACD accession numbers. OBIS: Do not hand-add to OBIS, might be able to batch import brief bibs and items.

Commercial CDs, cataloged in OBIS. Count as of 11/30/2021: 1048 (also 5 books, 1 score)    

Tracing as of 11/29/2021: 500  Gift of William E. Anderson

Changed 11/30/2021 to: 590  Gift of William E. Anderson

Spreadsheet inventory, hollowaysheetmusicDB_Edited.xlsx (Box).