Instruments at Oberlin
-
Instrument collection
Orchestral instruments, pianos, Baroque instruments, organs, harpsichords and fortepianos, ethnomusicology collection, and Selch instruments.
-
The Roderic C. Knight Musical Instrument Collection - Oberlin CollegeUpon his retirement from Oberlin Conservatory, Knight donated his personal collection of instruments, some 200 in number. In addition to collecting instruments to take to class, he also purchased instruments to be used in performing ensembles, especially his own, in African and Indian music. Knight's personal collection and the instruments purchased for ensembles make up the bulk of the collection.
-
Instrument rentalInformation for Oberlin students taking secondary lessons.
Labs
-
“iPads in the group piano classroom”
by
Publication Date: MTNA e-journal 8, no. 2 (November 2016): 24–26. -
“Mission possible: starting a voice lab at your music school”
by
Publication Date: Journal of singing 65, no. 2 (November–December 2008): 187–93.
Organ literature
-
“Oberlin’s Flentrop organ at 50: An anniversary celebration”
by
Publication Date: American organist 59, no. 2 (February 2025): 49–52. -
“Oberlin Conservatory of Music, Warner Concert Hall: The Van Cleef Family organ, Flentrop Orgelbouw (1974), dedicated in memory of George Whitfield Andrews”
by
Publication Date: American organist 58, no. 10 (October 2024): 22–25. -
“Oberlin honors tradition with organ collection”
by
Publication Date: Oberlin review, March 1, 2024. -
“Oberlin Conservatory of Music, Oberlin, Ohio: C.B. Fisk Inc., Gloucester, Massachusetts”
by
Publication Date: American organist 56, no. 6 (June 2022): 28–31. -
Organs of Oberlin: The College Conservatory of Music and its pipe organs
by
Call Number: ML561.8.O24 S36 2013Publication Date: Oak Park, Illinois: Chauncey Park Press, 2013. -
« Vue d’ensemble du département d’orgue du Conservatoire de Musique d’Oberlin College (Oberlin, Ohio) »
by
Publication Date: L’orgue: bulletin des Amis de l’Orgue 262 (second quarter, 2003). -
“Oberlin Conservatory of Music at Oberlin College, Oberlin, Ohio: C.B. Fisk Inc. organbuilders”
by
Publication Date: American organist 35, no. 7 (July 2001): 36–38. -
“Oberlin’s Fairchild Chapel organ: a historical perspective”
by
Publication Date: American organist 15, no. 12 (December 1981): 37–38. -
“The meaning of mean-tone temperament”
by
Publication Date: American organist 15, no. 12 (December 1981): 36. -
“Oberlin’s Fairchild Chapel organ: John Brombaugh and Associates, opus 25”
by
Publication Date: American organist 15, no. 12 (December 1981): 34–35. -
“Oberlin College Conservatory of Music presents the dedication and inaugural recital of the George Whitfield Andrews organ”
by
Publication Date: Music: the AGO and RCCO magazine 9, no. 2 (February 1975): 45–47.
Instruments literature
-
“Conservatory instrument collections reflect stories, research, interests of faculty”
by
Publication Date: Oberlin review, May 5, 2023. -
“Oberlin’s plucked instrument collection”
by
Publication Date: August 8, 2016 -
“Frederick R. Selch Center for American Music History”
Publication Date: American Musical Instrument Society newsletter 38, no. 1 (2009): 11.