Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Best Journal Article Databases
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Public access to MEDLINE, the most comprehensive index for biomedical literature, plus 40+ specialized databases for biochemistry, proteins, genomics, nucleotides, the National Library of Medicine catalog, and more.
SciFinder This link opens in a new window
Merges Chemical Abstracts, chemical compound data from CAS Registry, chemical reactions from CASReact, and Medline. Note: Access requires individual registration, from oberlin.edu (on campus users only).
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Scholarly literature in the sciences, health and medicine, social sciences, arts, and humanities and proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions. Includes cited reference searching across many databases. Search all databases in Web of Science
(includes Medline and BIOSIS, direct link for on-campus users). Dates of coverage: 1965 to present.
Other Important Databases
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Critically reviews the most significant research literature in over 40 focused disciplines within the fields of biomedical, life, physical, and social sciences. These reviews both summarize recent scholarly advances and prompt new research activity. Excellent database of in-depth, secondary sources.
BIOSIS Previews (via Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
Indexes worldwide biological and medical literature. Includes Biological Abstracts. Dates of coverage: 1969 to present. Select BIOSIS Previews from the pull down menu beside the Web of Science Core Collection heading.
Entrez, The Life Sciences Search Engine This link opens in a new window
A cross-database search engine from the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI).
GenBank This link opens in a new window
The NIH genetic sequence database; an annotated collection of all publicly available DNA sequences.
MEDLINE (EBSCO version) This link opens in a new window
Most comprehensive source of full text for medical journals. Includes full text of nearly 1500 titles.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Indexes scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences; covers journals, books, reviews, and dissertations.
Dates of Coverage: 1880s–present
Toxline: Toxicology Literature in PubMed This link opens in a new window
TOXNET, previously a separate service for toxicology data and literature, was incorporated into other sources of the National Library of Medicine, including Toxline and PubChem.
WikiPathways This link opens in a new window
An open, collaborative platform dedicated to the curation of biological pathways.