Best Journal Article Database
- CAS SciFinder-n This link opens in a new windowReference, substance, reaction and supplier information, step-by-step procedures and protocols, citation mapping, sequence searching, retrosynthetic analysis, patent landscape mapping, and touch-screen enabled structure drawing. (1907-present) Note: Access requires individual registration from on-campus or after authenticating with the Proxy Server or VPN. New users register here
- CAS SciFinder-n Quick Reference GuideCovers all types of searching, data, and directions for working with search results. Excellent guide for novice and expert users. pdf
Other Important Databases
- ChemRxiv This link opens in a new windowPreprints of papers in the chemical sciences that have not yet been peer-reviewed or accepted for publication in a scholarly journal. Multiple types of files are supported on the server.
- MEDLINE (PubMed version) This link opens in a new windowThe most comprehensive index for biomedical literature, plus dozens of specialized databases for genomics, proteins, nucleotides, etc., and the National Library of Medicine catalog. Dates of Coverage: 1950-present
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Scholarly literature in the sciences, health and medicine, social sciences, arts, and humanities and proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions. Includes cited reference searching across many databases. Search all databases in Web of Science (includes Medline and BIOSIS, direct link for on-campus users). Dates of coverage: 1965 to present.
Librarian / Research Help
Contact:Eboni A. Johnson (she/her/hers)
STEM Librarian / Head of the Science Library
ejohnson@oberlin.edu
440-775-5146
Subject expert for:
Astronomy, Biology,
Chemistry & Biochemistry,
Environmental Studies,
Geosciences, Mathematics,
Medicine & Health,
Neuroscience, Physics,
Science & Technology