Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Best Journal Article Databases and Other Important Sources
MEDLINE, whether through PubMed or the EbscoHost interface, is the most comprehensive and useful database for all medical and health topics.
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Critically reviews the most significant research literature in over 40 focused disciplines within the fields of biomedical, life, physical, and social sciences. These reviews both summarize recent scholarly advances and prompt new research activity. Excellent database of in-depth, secondary sources.
CINAHL This link opens in a new window
Indexing and full text coverage for journals in nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health. Dates of Coverage: 1937-
Entrez, The Life Sciences Search Engine This link opens in a new window
A cross-database search engine from the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI).
Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
Searchable full text for consumer health periodicals, health-related pamphlets, health reference books, and drug monographs.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Scholarly full text journals in nursing, allied health, drug monographs, plus access to Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary.
History of Science, Technology, and Medicine This link opens in a new window
An international bibliography indexing journal articles, conference proceedings, books, dissertations, serials, maps and other materials Dates of coverage: 1975 to present
MedicLatina This link opens in a new window
A Spanish language collection of medical research and investigative journals from Latin American and Spanish publishers.
MEDLINE (EBSCO version) This link opens in a new window
Most comprehensive source of full text for medical journals. Includes full text of nearly 1500 titles.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Indexes scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences; covers journals, books, reviews, and dissertations.
Dates of Coverage: 1880s–present
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Public access to MEDLINE, the most comprehensive index for biomedical literature, plus 40+ specialized databases for biochemistry, proteins, genomics, nucleotides, the National Library of Medicine catalog, and more.
SPORTDiscus This link opens in a new window
Indexing and abstracting of articles and other publications on sport, fitness and related disciplines, with more than 240 full text journals.