Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Best Journal Article Databases
Inspec This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive coverage of scientific and technical literature in physics, astronomy, engineering, and computer science. Dates of coverage: 1969 to present.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Scholarly literature in the sciences, health and medicine, social sciences, arts, and humanities and proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions. Includes cited reference searching across many databases. Search all databases in Web of Science
(includes Medline and BIOSIS, direct link for on-campus users). Dates of coverage: 1965 to present.
Other Important Databases
Computers & Applied Sciences Complete This link opens in a new window
Covers the spectrum of the applied sciences, including the many engineering disciplines, computer theory, and new technologies.
Derwent Innovations Index (via Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
Access to cited and citing patents, cited articles, and full-text patent data sources. Sections include Chemical, Electrical and Electronic, and Engineering.
History of Science, Technology, and Medicine This link opens in a new window
An international bibliography indexing journal articles, conference proceedings, books, dissertations, serials, maps and other materials Dates of coverage: 1975 to present
IsisCB Explore This link opens in a new window
Open access discovery service for history of science. Built on 40 years of data in the Isis Bibliography of the History of Science.
Osti.gov This link opens in a new window
A full-text searchable database of electronic resources from the U.S. Dept. of Energy Office and Scientific and Technical Information.
Russian Academy of Sciences Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Indexing and abstracts of more than 12,500 publications including journal articles, books, manuscripts, and dissertations published primarily in Russia, the republics of the former Soviet Union, and countries in Eastern Europe. Subjects include arts, humanities, science, social sciences. Dates of coverage: 1980 to date
Summon This link opens in a new window
Searches more than 300 million items - books, scholarly articles, newspaper articles, data, digital audio, digital video, digital images, government documents and more. It draws from the library catalog (OBIS), many of the full text and article indexing databases, as well as digital repositories from colleges, universities, research centers, and other open-access archives on the web.
Toxline: Toxicology Literature in PubMed This link opens in a new window
TOXNET, previously a separate service for toxicology data and literature, was incorporated into other sources of the National Library of Medicine, including Toxline and PubChem.
USPTO Patent Full-Text Databases This link opens in a new window
Patent database from the United States Patent and Trademark Office.
Nobel Prize Internet Archive
Information on all Nobel Prize winners in all categories.
The official web site of the Nobel Prize.
Research news from reputable and reliable sources in the areas of bioscience, health science, physics/chemistry, earth & space, and engineering.
Science news from Science magazine.
Includes the Science Watch newsletter as well as data, analysis, interviews, and commentary drawn from Essential Science Indicators.