Best Database for Scholarly Resources in Mathematics
- MathSciNet This link opens in a new window
MathSciNet provides access to over 60 years of Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications. Approximately 1700 current serials and journals are reviewed in whole or in part. Dates of Coverage: 1940 to present.
Summon
Search approximately 300 million books, scholarly articles, newspaper articles, data, digital audio, digital video, digital images, government documents and more. It draws from the library catalog (OBIS), many of the full text and article indexing databases, as well as digital repositories from colleges, universities, research centers, and other open-access archives on the web.
Search Strategies
Here is a good, basic formula for getting started with your research:
- Begin by using the keyword brainstorming worksheet to help you tweak your research question, identify keywords and related terms, and keep track of what you find.
- Search in a library catalog (Summon, OBIS, OhioLINK and/or WorldCat) to find books and reference sources. These sources will:
- provide BACKGROUND and CONTEXT
- REVIEW and SUMMARIZE earlier work
- help you FOCUS your topic and
- provide CITATIONS to important books, journal articles, conference papers, interviews, etc.
- Next, search research databases to find articles. The library has hundreds of databases; those listed on this guide are good places to begin.
- You may also wish to use Google Scholar to search the Internet. This is a great tool for doing cited reference searches.
- Finally, use the CRAAP test worksheet to evaluate the sources you find.
Librarian / Research Help
Contact:Eboni A. Johnson (she/her/hers)
Oberlin College Science Center
ejohnson@oberlin.edu
440-775-5146
Subject expert for:
Astronomy, Biology, Chemistry,
Environmental Studies,
Geosciences, Mathematics,
Medicine & Health,
Neuroscience, Physics,
Science & Technology