Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Best Journal Article Database
SciFinder This link opens in a new window
Merges Chemical Abstracts, chemical compound data from CAS Registry, chemical reactions from CASReact, and Medline. Note: Access requires individual registration, from oberlin.edu (on campus users only).
Other Important Databases
ChemRxiv This link opens in a new window
Preprints of papers in the chemical sciences that have not yet been peer-reviewed or accepted for publication in a scholarly journal. Multiple types of files are supported on the server.
MEDLINE (PubMed version) This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive index for biomedical literature, plus dozens of specialized databases for genomics, proteins, nucleotides, etc., and the National Library of Medicine catalog. Dates of Coverage: 1950-present
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Scholarly literature in the sciences, health and medicine, social sciences, arts, and humanities and proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions. Includes cited reference searching across many databases. Search all databases in Web of Science
(includes Medline and BIOSIS, direct link for on-campus users). Dates of coverage: 1965 to present.